2,642 Iowa 4-H Youth Displayed Projects at the Iowa State Fair

September 2, 2021, 1:37 pm | Valyn Bodensteiner, Mitchell Hoyer

2021 Iowa State Fair 4-H exhibits.AMES, Iowa – Nearly 3,200 static 4-H exhibits created by 2,642 youth exhibitors were displayed in the Bruce L. Rastetter 4-H Exhibits Building at the 2021 Iowa State Fair.

Youth showcased cumulative learning projects in the areas of agriculture and natural resources; food and nutrition; home improvement; consumer management; child development; science, engineering and technology; visual arts; photography; personal development; clothing and fashion; and sewing and needle arts.

“Each exhibit is an outgrowth of year-long project area work done by the 4-H member,” said Mitchell Hoyer, Iowa State University Extension and Outreach 4-H youth development program specialist. “The exhibits displayed at the Iowa State Fair are a celebration of the educational and personal accomplishments of our Iowa 4-H members and a way for them to share what they’ve learned with the public.”

Iowa 4-H exhibits receiving top certificates or awards included the following.

Visual Arts Judge’s Choice Award

  • Tyler Christensen, Pottawattamie County.
  • Jordyn Foelske, Bremer County.
  • Emma Forsyth, Franklin County.
  • Jackson Kimball, Madison County.
  • Reagan Kruse, Boone County.
  • Ellie Melohn, Pocahontas County.
  • Maguire Neumann, Ida County.
  • Ella Rivas, Polk County.
  • Cael Roberts, Marion County.
  • Madison Truitt, Greene County.
  • Chloe Wagner, Plymouth County.
  • Ashley Westering, Calhoun County.

Food and Nutrition, Health and Family Consumer Sciences Judge’s Choice Award

  • Deanna Balk, Fayette County.
  • Aymee Bean, Linn County.
  • Connor Brummett, Pottawattamie County.
  • Anna Campbell, Audubon County.
  • Sarah Capps, Dallas County.
  • Abbey Crew, Clay County.
  • Connor Dial, Polk County.
  • Hallie Kelchen, Jones County.
  • Katie Krug, Osceola County.
  • Joshua LeRette, Montgomery County.
  • Jarrett McClain, Guthrie County.
  • Lily Moeller, Sioux County.
  • Kyla Rueschenberg, Shelby County.
  • Elliot Schilling, Greene County.
  • Bailey Solko, Calhoun County.
  • Megan Swan, Davis County.
  • Abigail Tillberg, Plymouth County.
  • Anna Weibold, Iowa County.
  • Justine Weir, Polk County.

Outstanding Award Sewn and Quilted Item

  • Kylie Beelner, Plymouth County.
  • Haley Brant, Madison County.
  • Averie Bruner, Story County.
  • Abigail Chambers, Polk County.
  • Morgan Christiansen, Wright County.
  • Macie Cook, Delaware County.
  • Avery Harris, Butler County.
  • Halli Hershberger, Washington County.
  • Cecelia Hill, Worth County.
  • Ellyse Holubar, Johnson County.
  • Lauren Jaschke, Polk County.
  • Ava Kerns, Clayton County.
  • Sarah King, Union County.
  • Ciera Krogman, Clinton County.
  • Macie Kurth, Harrison County.
  • Lilly Kurth, Harrison County.
  • Trevin Kurth, Harrison County.
  • Avery Lamborn, Clayton County.
  • Carli Lyon, Franklin County.
  • Ellie Melohn, Pocahontas County.
  • Josephine Mowrer, Boone County.
  • Molly Peterson, Kossuth County.
  • Amber Ragaller, Crawford County.
  • Abigail Tilberg, Plymouth County.
  • Ashley Westering, Calhoun County.
  • Bryan York, Cass County.

Professional Photographers of Iowa Gallery Award

  • Kira Barker, Johnson County.
  • Emily Frazier, Crawford County.
  • Thomas Godtland, Sioux County.
  • Avary Helmrichs, Iowa County.
  • Addy Johnson, Woodbury County.
  • Sidney King, Boone County.
  • Jillian Kniep, Ringgold County.
  • Emerson Lichty, Black Hawk County.
  • Alannah McKibben, Iowa County.
  • Kim Meyer, Cherokee County.
  • Hanna Paulson, Emmett County.
  • Claire Pellett, Cass County.
  • Hailee Poland, Pottawattamie County.
  • Evelyn Schmitz, Black Hawk County.
  • Dawsen Sorensen, Cass County.
  • Reagan Stoking, Woodbury County.
  • Lexi Vaske, Kossuth County.
  • Logan Vittetoe, Johnson County.
  • Sylvia Wacholtz, Webster County.
  • Reese Wagner, Story County.

Iowa Tree Farm Award

  • Lexis Collins, Hamilton County.
  • Jacob Driskill, Union County.
  • Emerson Gurzehauser, Lucas County.
  • Jocelyn Harrison, Chickasaw County.
  • Ava Kerns, Clayton County.
  • Chloe Switzer, Hardin County.

IDALS Soil and Conservation Award

  • Hannah Andrews, Clinton County.
  • Macy Bristle, Boone County.
  • Lillian Bru, Tama County.
  • Tariq Burton, Hamilton County.
  • Anna Campbell, Audubon County.
  • Joaquin Elizondo, Muscatine County.
  • Eva Foelske, Floyd County.
  • Justine Hager, Jackson County.
  • Brinley Hiscocks, Hancock County.
  • Grant Karr, Pottawattamie County.
  • Eva Kerns, Clayton County.
  • Mathias Kroymann, Clinton County.
  • Ben Kuehnast, Humboldt County.
  • James Lippe, Johnson County.
  • Brennan McGuire, Washington County.
  • Cody Messer, Des Moines County.
  • Eleanor Moen, Benton County.
  • Garrett Morran, Plymouth County.
  • Jacob Muench, Webster County.
  • Rylee Philips, Van Buren County.
  • Elizabeth Pritchard, Winneshiek County.
  • Tessaly Robertson, Linn County.
  • Bryce Roquet, Mahaska County.
  • Mackenzy Ruff, Clayton County.
  • Dylan Weber, Keokuk County.

Iowa Questers Award

  • First Place – Joshua LeRette, Montgomery County.
  • Second Place – Sophia Costello, Clinton County.
  • Third Place – Tianna Carlson, Worth County.

Iowa State University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Scholarships

  • Karmyn Bakken, Winneshiek County.
  • Ann Barrett, Mills County.
  • Lane Bayliss, Mahaska County.
  • Konrad Boyer, Clarke County.
  • Hannah Case, Marshall County.
  • Kelsey Holdgrafer, Jackson County.
  • Dean Lambertsen, Jones County.
  • Olivia Laughery, Adair County.
  • Charlie Moeller, Sioux County.
  • Jared Overmann, Warren County.
  • Dylan Weber, Keokuk County.
  • Quin Whaley, Wright County.

Iowa State University College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Scholarships

  • Rachel Aird, Muscatine County.
  • Macy Bristle, Boone County.
  • Zachary Campbell, Story County.
  • Aaron Carlson, Jefferson County.
  • Zachary Harnden, Dallas County.
  • Maeve Janssen, Marshall County.
  • Jarret Jordahl, Franklin County.
  • Noah Yeager, Polk County.
  • Madelynn Schuh, Johnson County.
  • Addison Wicklund, Winneshiek County.

In addition to static project exhibits, over 700 youth gave live communication presentations on topics ranging from livestock IDs to dog behaviors, history of jazz dancing and how to build a PC.

Youth-driven 4-H experiences provide youth access to safe learning environments; challenging experiences that build skills, competencies and resiliency to address life’s challenges and to actively contribute to society; and partnerships with caring adults to help meet youths’ basic needs of belonging, mastery, independence and generosity.

For more information on the Iowa 4-H Youth Development program, please contact your ISU Extension and Outreach county office or visit the Iowa 4-H website at www.extension.iastate.edu/4h.  


Shareable photo: 2021 Iowa State Fair 4-H exhibits.
Caption: Youth exhibits in the Bruce L. Rastetter 4-H Exhibits Building at the 2021 Iowa State Fair demonstrate cumulative learning experiences.


About the Authors: