Iowa Youth Compete at 4-H Shooting Sports National Championships

July 5, 2019, 8:20 am | Patty Gibler, Bonnie Dalager

AMES, Iowa – Iowa delegates competed in a variety of disciplines at the 2019 4-H Shooting Sports National Championships in Grand Island, Nebraska, June 23-28. 4-H youth from 35 states across the country competed in compound archery, recurve archery, air rifle, air pistol, .22 rifle, .22 pistol, shotgun, muzzleloading, and hunting skills.

Iowa youth delegates to 2019 4-H Shooting Sports National Championships.The 4-H project area of Safety and Education in Shooting Sports assists young people and their leaders in gaining knowledge and developing life skills through the use of skills and disciplines of shooting sports and wildlife skills. 4-H members in this project area learn the safe and responsible use of equipment, decision making, self-discipline, concentration, safety and sportsmanship.

The following young people represented Iowa at this national event:

  • Air rifle team: Hunter Caraccio (Tama County), Alexis Lange (Humboldt County), Morgan Lange (Humboldt County), Sophia Pike (Scott County) with Coach Roy Silhanek (Tama County).
  • Archery compound team: Jay Froah (Davis County), Kaitlynn Larrington (Davis County), Annalie Nelson (Cherokee County) with Coach Matt Froah (Davis County). Jay Froah placed ninth for field.
  • Archery recurve team: Jacob Miller (Webster County) with Coach Troy Harris (Webster County).
  • Rifle smallbore team: Molly Bagby (Adams County), Jael Coon (Pocahontas County), Zane Fisher (Washington County), Eric Keller (Iowa County) with Coach Les Bacon (Humboldt County).
  • Shotgun trap team: Trey Derry (Guthrie County), Tage Henricks (Osceola County), Parker Owen (Guthrie County) with Coach Jeff Derry (Guthrie County).
  • Wildlife/hunting team: Vincent Butcher (Adams County), Rachel Silhanek (Tama County) with Coach Sarah Silhanek (Tama County).

For more information on the Iowa 4-H Youth Development Program or the Safety and Education in Shooting Sports project area and events, please contact your Iowa State University Extension and Outreach county office or visit the Iowa 4-H website at


Download the photo: Iowa delegates to 2019 4-H Shooting Sports National Championships. Front row left to right: Trey Derry, Annalee Nelson, Eric Keller, Alexis Lange, Rachel Silhanek, Morgan Lange, Jacob Miller. Back row left to right: Jay Froah, Kaitlynn Larrington,  Parker Owen, Sophia Pike, Jeff Derry, Zane Fisher, Jael Coon, Troy Harris, Molly Babgy, Tage Henrichs , Matt Froah, Hunter Caraccio, Roy Silhanek, Vicente Butcher, Les Bacon, Nate Weber

Contact: Nate Weber, 4-H Youth Program Specialist,


About the Authors: