Five Iowa Youth Head to 2017 National 4-H Conference

Youth represent Iowa 4-H Youth Development Program at national event

March 22, 2017, 1:53 pm | Bonnie Dalager

AMES, Iowa – Five 4-H youth have been selected to represent Iowa at the National 4-H Conference March 25-30 in Washington, D.C.

Joy Westercamp, Van Buren County; Scott Magnuson, Worth County; Zachary Mass, Mills County; Jessica Bigelow, Polk County; and Landra Reece, Boone County, will represent the Iowa 4-H Youth Development program during this national working conference, said Bonnie Dalager, a program coordinator with Iowa State University Extension and Outreach 4-H Youth Development.  

Sponsoring the 4-H’ers’ trip to the nation’s capital are David and Valerie Pace, the IBM Corporation and the Iowa Department of Agriculture.  

Cherry Sandeen, an ISU Extension and Outreach 4-H youth field specialist, will serve as the youths’ chaperone.

ISU Extension and Outreach sends delegates to the National 4-H Conference each year; youth are eligible to attend once. Delegates must submit an application and interview at State 4-H Recognition Day for the opportunity to attend the conference.

“The National 4-H Conference is an amazing educational opportunity for Iowa 4-H'ers. Delegates are selected on their experience and skills in leadership, citizenship and communication,” Dalager said.  

“Youth delegates engage in supporting and advocating for the 4-H Youth Development program in their communities and while on the trip with representatives and senators on Capitol Hill. At this national event, they will work with teams of youth from around the country to identify and share solutions to current issues affecting young people today,” Dalager said. “Their solutions are presented to groups of government officials, members of national associations and with stakeholders. The long-term goal is that these young people will continue to share the knowledge and skills they’ve gained with their peers and with leaders in their own communities when they return home.”

Van Buren County 4-H’er Joy Westercamp, 17, is the daughter of Steven and Christine Westercamp. An eight-year 4-H member, she has participated in beekeeping, rabbit, communications, food and nutrition, and swine projects. She has served as a state 4-H council member, has won state project area awards and local leadership awards, and has served as her club’s treasurer, secretary and president.  

Worth County 4-H’er Scott Magnuson, 17, is a nine-year 4-H member. He has participated in communications, visual arts, photography and woodworking projects. He has served as his club’s reporter, secretary, vice president and president. He has also won a state project area award in communications and has served on his county 4-H council.  

Mills County 4-H’er Zachary Mass, 18, is the son of Nathan and Sandra Mass. A nine-year 4-H member, he has participated in beef, STEM, food and nutrition, citizenship and leadership projects. He has served as the president, vice president, secretary, treasurer, reporter and activities director of his 4-H club. He also has won leadership awards, citizenship awards and has served on the state 4-H council.  

Polk County 4-H’er Jessica Bigelow, 18, is the daughter of Bill and Jo Ellen Bigelow. A nine-year 4-H member, she has participated in communication, sewing, consumer management and home improvement projects. She has served as president, treasurer, reporter, secretary and community service chairman of her 4-H club. She also has served as a youth trustee on the Iowa 4-H Foundation Board, and has won state project area awards in communications and sewing.  

Boone County 4-H’er Landra Reece, 17, is the daughter of Robyn and Tim Reece. An eight-year 4-H member, she has participated in citizenship, leadership, environment and sustainability, safety education in shooting sports, and communications projects. She has served as president, vice president, secretary, treasurer, historian, reporter, photographer and recreation leader of her 4-H club. She also has won leadership awards and has served as the chair of her county 4-H council and as a youth delegate to the county youth development committee.  

PHOTO: Joy Westercamp
PHOTO: Scott Magnuson
PHOTO: Zachary Mass
PHOTO: Jessica Bigelow
PHOTO: Landra Reece

About the Authors: