Epsilon Sigma Phi Alpha Mu Chapter

Epsilon Sigma Phi logo

ESP Alpha Mu Chapter is your connection to other ISU Extension and Outreach professionals!


The mission of Epsilon Sigma Phi is to foster the standards of excellence in the Extension System and to develop the Extension Profession and Professional.


The purpose of this fraternity is to maintain the traditions, uphold the ideals, stimulate the morale of the Extension Service, and to promote a fraternal spirit among its members.


Epsilon Sigma Phi leads the Extension System in providing and facilitating professional development that focuses on the Extension organization and the Extension professional.


I Believe in people and their hopes, their aspirations, and their faith; in their right to make their own plans and arrive at their own decisions; in their ability and power to enlarge their lives and plan for the happiness of those they love.

I Believe that education, of which Extension is an essential part, is basic in stimulating individual initiative, self-determination, and leadership; that these are the keys to democracy and that people when given facts they understand, will act not only in their self-interest, but also in the interest of society.

I Believe that education is a lifelong process and the greatest university is the home; that my success as a teacher is proportional to those qualities of mind and spirit that give me welcome entrance to the homes of the families I serve.

I Believe in intellectual freedom to search for and present the truth without bias and with courteous tolerance toward the views of others.

I Believe that Extension is a link between the people and the ever-changing discoveries in the laboratories.

I Believe in the public institutions of which I am a part.

I Believe in my own work and in the opportunity I have to make my life useful to humanity.

Because I Believe these things, I am an Extension professional.


The Alpha Mu Chapter was established in 1928.  Read more about ESP History.pdf


Committee Members

Current and past committee members 


Renew Your Membership online. Please note, that our annual dues are paid online directly to the National ESP Office. You can login to your membership account by visiting: https://epsilonsigmaphi.wildapricot.org

Current and past members and membership information


Award Information


Meeting minutes and annual meeting minutes


Newsletter archive



Vera Stokes  - President 
Cayla Taylor  - President Elect 
Julie Hering Kent - Past President 
Kim Cavalier  - Secretary
Patrick Hatting  - Treasurer
Carter Oliver – Member-At-Large 
Mark Hanna (Life Chair Member) 
Andrea Welchans (Membership Chair)