Extension Council

The elected Extension Council is the grass roots governing body for the Cooperative Extension System. As part of Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, the Linn County council works in partnership with local citizens, Iowa State University and the U.S. Department of Agriculture to carry the land-grant mission beyond the Iowa State University campus in Ames. The Linn County Extension Council are elected by the voters of Linn County and serve four year terms.

The County Agricultural Extension District Council is made up of nine members elected at large from the county. The Extension Council governs Iowa State University (ISU) Extension and Outreach in Linn County. The council assumes responsibility for extension programs in the county, which includes establishing a budget, levying a tax, authorizing payment of expenses, and employing the ISU Extension and Outreach Linn County staff.  

Linn County Extension Council meetings are held the third Wednesday of each month at 6 pm and are open to the public. Linn County residents are invited to attend and allowed to make comments at the start of the meeting (see public forum details below). Meetings are held at Iowa State Extension and Outreach at 1770 Boyson Rd, Room 200, Hiawatha, 52233. Located in the Kirkwood Linn Regional Center. Use the north doors to enter the building for these meetings.

Meeting dates are subject to change.

Special Meeting: February 1st 5:30pm in person or via Zoom

COUNCIL MEETINGS are scheduled for 6 p.m. 

2024 Council Meetings: 2/21, 3/20, 4/17, 5/15, 6/19, 7/17, 8/21, 9/18, 10/16, 11/20, 12/18

Council Meetings Agenda & Minutes

Agenda items should be submitted two weeks prior to the meeting. However, items may be added up to 24 hours prior to the meeting. Items included in the agenda are at the discretion of the council chair. The Linn County Extension Council allows time for public forum, where the public may present information or concerns to the council. Each participant will be limited to 3 minutes. There will be no action taken at this meeting, but concerns may be an agenda item at future meetings. No defamation of character or slander will be tolerated during this forum and office personnel issues will be directed to the proper chain of command and not discussed in this forum. Anyone making public comments will need to state their name and address before proceeding.

The Linn County Ag Extension Council designates sub-committees at the Organization meeting in January. Current sub-committees of the Ag Extension Council include: Fiscal/Facility, Personnel, and Program.  As of January 2022 these committees have 3 council members.  An official meeting will include, at minimum, the County Director, one of the assigned committee members and a second Council member in attendance. Others may be invited as necessary.  The Ag Extension Council of Linn County employs a County Director (or designee) to conduct and manage day-to-day operations of the Council.

Extension Council Resources

Past Extension Council Meeting Minutes

If you are looking for minutes and agendas over three years old contact the Extension Office at 319-377-9839.


Council Meetings Agenda & Minutes


What is the role of a County Extension Council Member?

  • They represent their county – they bring an understanding of local issues to important decisions about educational opportunities.
  • They bring significant programs to their county and region that help people solve critical issues affecting their lives.
  • They represent Iowa State University Extension and Outreach and act on our behalf locally.
  • They have the responsibility to be a good steward of taxpayer dollars.
  • They provide mentoring and leadership for county paid staff.
  • They agree to fulfill the responsibilities of the position, including regularly attending council meeting.

Join Us

Increase your leadership and networking opportunities through new relationships that benefit your county, and help position ISU Extension and Outreach to move our state forward.

How do you become a Council Member?

As a qualified voter in the Linn County Extension district, you are eligible to be a candidate for county extension council.
To qualify as a candidate, you will need to obtain 25 signatures on a nominating petition, from the Linn county auditor’s office. We would urge you to obtain a few additional signatures, but 30 or 35 will be sufficient. When the petition has been completed, you will need to return it to the county auditor’s office and sign an affidavit at that time. The petition must be filed at the auditor’s office.

More Information

If you would like to learn more about the Linn County Extension Council and how you can be part of it please contact Hailee Sandberg at (319) 377-9839 or hailees@iastate.edu

Council Members

(Number) is the year the term expires

  • Emmaly Renshaw
    Cedar Rapids, IA
  • Megan R. Fagle
    Vice Chair
    Marion, IA
  • Ryan Sieck
    Marion, IA
  • Dana Nichols
    Cedar Rapids, IA
  • Daniel Abel
    Cedar Rapids, IA
  • Selinya Carew
    Cedar Rapids, IA
  • Jennifer Dunn
    Central City, IA
  • Kylie Mysak
    Springville, IA
  • Michael Olinger
    Marion, IA