Staff

Lori K. Mannel


County Extension Director
lmannel@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

Agriculture and Natural Resources, Community Economic Development

Kayla Willms


County Youth and 4-H Coordinator
khyett@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

Youth and 4-H

Amy Lewman


Office Assistant
alewman@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

Terry Torneten


Regional Extension Education Director
ttorn@iastate.edu
(712) 792-2364

Earl McAlexander


Youth Program Specialist
earlmc@iastate.edu
(712) 792-2364

Youth Science and Technology Curriculums, Animal Science Activities/Materials, Life Skills Development, Youth Record Keeing and Recognition Models, Experiential Learning Process

David Brown


Human Sciences Specialist, Family Life
dnbrown@iastate.edu
515 298 1505

Provides leadership, delivery and support for porgrams such as Strengthenign Families, Powerful Tools for Caregivers, and training programs for child care providers and new child care center directors. 

Ann Heuer


Human Sciences Specialist, Nutrition and Wellness
aeheuer@iastate.edu
515-204-3397

Erika Lundy


Extension Beef Specialist
ellundy@iastate.edu
641-745-5902

Beef
Livestock

Tim Christensen


Extension Farm Management Specialist
tsc@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

Pasture economics, crops and livestock insurance, livestock economics, crop/livestock econ related to manure, run-off, etc., livestock marketing, farmland and building leasing, CSR2 (corn suitability rating)

Carol Ehlers


Human Sciences Specialist, Family Finance
xehlers@iastate.edu
(712) 732-5056

Financial Management for individuals and families including spending plans, budgeting for your needs, consumer decision-making, dealing with credit and debt, and planning for your future - savings, insurance, and retirement.

Russ Euken


Extension Swine Specialist
reuken@iastate.edu
641-231-1711

Animal behavior, animal welfare assessment and auditing, housing and ventilation, group housing, standard operating procedure creation, employee training and documnetation, pork quality assurance - PQA producer education, pork quality assurance - PQA site assessments, TQA (trucker quality assurance), ISO14001 Environmental Management Systems, OSHA18001 Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems

Abbie Gaffey


Community Development Specialist
agaffey@iastate.edu
712-539-1169

Primary Extension and Outreach programming areas:

  • Community engagement
  • Housing needs assessments
  • Tourism customer service/hospitality training
  • Community leadership training
  • Strategic planning and facilitation services

Call me if you need…

To address a complicated community problem that requires engaging with multiple stakeholders, creating an organization, establishing or updating a strategic plan, or taking advantage of a unique economic development opportunity.

Joe Hannan


Commercial Horticulture Field Specialist
jmhannan@iastate.edu
515-993-4281

Organic crop production, vegetable crop production, fruit tree management, small fruit crop management, local foods

Alan D. Jensen


Community Developement and State Geospatial Technology Program Coordinator
adjensen@iastate.edu
(515) 290-2075,

Geographic information systems, conservation, small town and rural planning

Shawn Shouse


Agricultural Engineering Program Specialist
sshouse@iastate.edu
OFFICE 712-769-2650 / CELL 712-250-0135

Ventilation, manure management, DNR regulations, manure storage designs and handling systems, building layout and siting, feedlot runoff design, energy conservation and heating, grain drying systems and well water quality

Derek L. Thompson


CIRAS
thompson@iastate.edu
515-419-2163

Account Manager

Leo Timms


Dairy Program Specialist
ltimms@iastate.edu
515-294-4522

Production records, employee management and training, milk marketing, milk pricing, feeds, forages, nutrition, dry and transition cows, lactating cows, calves and heifers, milk quality, reproduction and genetics, humane animal care/euthanasia, manure nutrient management, environment, energy resources, buildings and facilities, milking systems, dairy goats, dairy sheep, 4-H/dairy youth, dairy product quality/nutrition/safety, dairy consumer education, local foods, small/beginning farmer

Alan Vandehaar


Community Development Specialist
alanv@iastate.edu
515-231-6513

Community Planning

Michael White


Viticulture Specialist
mlwhite@iastate.edu
515 961-6237

Agronomic Resource Management with emphasis in:  soils, soil fertility; waste nutrient use; crop production practices; forage selection and use; soil conservation; integrated crop management; pesticide safety and compliance training.

Michael Witt


Field Agronomist
witt@iastate.edu
641-430-2600

Educational programs for agronomic resource management with emphasis in: conservation and land use; manure nutrient management; soil and water quality; soil fertility; soil survey use; and crop production.

Share |