Staff

County Program Director

Jade Hargrafen


County Program Director
jadeh@iastate.edu
563-927-4201

Mackenzie Griffin


County Youth Coordinator
kenzieg@iastate.edu
563-927-4201
Staff Photo Office Assistant

Kathy Boeding


Office Assistant/Bookkeeper
boeding@iastate.edu
563-927-4201
Katie Beason

Katie Beason


K-12 Youth Education Coordinator
kbeason@iastate.edu
563-927-4201

Paul Mariman


Regional Extension Education Director
pmariman@iastate.edu
563-583-6496

Katie Peterson


4-H Youth Program Specialist
katiejp@iastate.edu
563-583-6496
Kelsey Salow

Kelsey Salow


Human Sciences Specialist, Nutrition and Wellness
ksalow@iastate.edu
5639274201 Cell: 563-929-1289

Provides integrated content including family nutrition, health and wellness, food preservation and food safety. Families, schools, athletes, food services and worksites benefit from nutrition education.

VACANT Position


Human Sciences Specialist, Family Life
563-927-4201

Educator of sustainable living, aging and caregiving, parenting and fatherhood, quality child care and child development, relationship education, self-care and stress management.

Susan Taylor


Family Finance Specialist
taylorse@iastate.edu
(563) 583-6496

Financial Management for individuals and families including spending plans, budgeting for your needs, consumer decision-making, dealing with credit and debt, and planning for your future - savings, insurance, and retirement.

Larry Tranel


Dairy/Beef and Forage Field Specialist
tranel@iastate.edu
563/583-6496

Dairy/beef and forage production with additional specialties in management intensive grazing and dairy financial management

Brian Lang


Extension Field Agronomist - Forage Specialist
bjlang@iastate.edu
563-382-2949

Develop and conduct educational programs in row crop, forage, and pasture management with emphasis on integrated crop management and controlled intensive grazing. Specific areas of expertise include: corn, soybean, small grain, hay, silage, and grazing management; soil testing and nutrient recommendations; manure management; pesticide management; conventional, ridge-till, and no-till production; with emphasis on net profit, sustainability, and environmental concerns. Advise and assist with multi-agency water quality projects in Northeast Iowa. Arrange multi-disciplined programs with local and state extension agricultural specialists, agricultural providers, and conservation agencies. Provide timely media releases on critical crop management related issues.

Melissa O' Rourke


Farm Management Specialist
morourke@iastate.edu
563-382-2949

Patrick O'Malley


Commercial Horticulture Specialist
omall@iastate.edu
319-337-2145

Horticulture

Virgil Schmitt


Extension Field Agronomist
vschmitt@iastate.edu
563-263-5701 or 563-260-3721 (cell)

Production of corn, soybeans, small grains, and forages and the management of diseases, insects, and weeds that affect these crops

Denise Schwab


Beef Specialist
dschwab@iastate.edu
319-472-4739

Production information related to nutrition, facilities, health, records analysis, and pasture and forage management for beef and sheep producers. Individual consultation on improving productivity in livestock operations.

Mark Storlie


Swine Field Specialist
mstorlie@iastate.edu
563/425-3331

Swine production management—production pig flow, breeding and farrowing schedules, principles and application of PQA; initiating and using production and financial records for management—marketing, cost control; analysis of nutritional feeding programs; alternative housing options—hoop buildings; mortality composting; contracting considerations—production and marketing; development and communication with employees—production handbooks; development of computer templates for management control or awareness; support of value-added production and marketing systems —organic, sustainable production, direct marketing

Scott Timm


Community Development Specialist
stimm@iastate.edu
515-291-2560
Share |