Meet the 2018 Iowa Ag Extension Winners

April 4, 2018

Meet the 2018 Iowa Ag Extension Award Winners

Members of Iowa Ag Extension Association recognized for outstanding communication efforts.

Members of Iowa Ag Extension Association recognized for outstanding communication efforts.

CONGRATULATIONS: Winners of the Iowa Ag Extension Association communication awards for 2018 are (from left) Nathan Crane (chair), Fred Hall, Kapil Arora, Lisa Scarbrough, Ron Lenth and Jennifer Bentley.


By Rod Swoboda

As they do every year in early April, members of the Iowa Agricultural Extension Association recently came to Ames for their spring meeting at Iowa State University.  They attended a couple days of training and information sessions, to get updated and learn what’s new in their area of expertise.

On one of the evenings the membership business meeting is held, and winners of the IAEA annual communications awards are announced.

Wallaces Farmer magazine is a long-time sponsor of the annual communications awards presented by IAEA. The recognition goes to IAEA members who submit entries of their work in various categories, which are judged. The state winners receive a cash award, and their entries are then advanced to regional competition sponsored by the National Association of County Agricultural Agents.

Entries in various categories for 2018

This year’s contest had 13 total entries from Iowa members. The state winners for 2018 are Fred Hall, website category; Kapil Arora, published photo, promotional piece, feature story, and publication; Lisa Scarbrough, newsletter by team; Ron Lenth, newsletter by individual; and Jennifer Bentley video recording and fact sheet.

What’s the role of these 2018 winners in ISU Extension? Crane is ISU regional Extension director for four counties, based at Oskaloosa in the Mahaska County Extension office. As chairman of the IAEA communications committee, he congratulated the 2018 contest winners for their efforts to “effectively deliver objective, research-based information to the public.”

Fred Hall is an ISU Extension dairy specialist in northwest Iowa. Kapil Arora is an ISU Extension ag engineer located at Winterset. Lisa Scarbrough is an ISU Extension communications specialist at Ames working with ISU programs, including Annie’s Project, Value Added Agriculture and Women in Agriculture. Ron Lenth is the Bremer County Extension Coordinator at Waverly. Jennifer Bentley is an ISU Extension dairy specialist in northeast Iowa.

John Lawrence, who has served ISU Extension for many years as director of Ag and Natural Resources Extension efforts, and as associate dean of ISU’s College of Agriculture, addressed the annual IAEA meeting. Lawrence was recently named vice president of ISU Extension, as he completed one year as interim vice president. Jay Harmon, an ISU professor of ag engineering and an ISU Extension livestock facilities specialist, also spoke to the members. Harmon is serving as interim director for Ag and Natural Resources Extension and Outreach at ISU.