ISU Extension and Outreach Leadership and Organization

ISU Extension and Outreach engages Iowans with the research, educational, and technological resources of Iowa State University in partnership with federal, state, and county governments.

  • ISU Extension and Outreach Leadership Organizational Chart (April 22, 2023)
    Our vice president reports directly to the senior vice president and provost, who reports directly to the president of Iowa State University. Our faculty and staff harness resources from the ISU colleges and campus units and 99 counties to build capacity, lead programs, and support efforts across the state.
  • ISU Extension and Outreach Collaboration Organizational Chart (November 2022)
    Our Programs, County Services, and Operations units work together and support each other as we engage all Iowans in research, education, and extension experiences to address current and emerging real-life challenges. ISU Extension and Outreach is committed to diversity and inclusion as we offer education, develop partnerships, and strive to serve all Iowans.

Leadership Team

Jason Henderson.Jason Henderson

Vice President for Extension and Outreach

About Jason Henderson

Andrea Nelson.Andrea Nelson

Assistant Vice President, County Services

Andrea Lutter.Andrea Lutter

Manager of Budget and Finance

Regenea Hurte.Regenea Hurte

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Advisor

Ruth Appleton.Ruth Appleton

HR Partner
University Human Resources

Carol Heaverlo.Carol Heaverlo

Director of Operations


Jay Harmon.Jay Harmon

Director, Agriculture and
Natural Resources;
Associate Dean, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences


Erin Olson-Douglas.Erin Olson-Douglas

Director, Community and Economic Development;
Associate Dean, College of Design

Mitchell Hoyer

Interim State Program Leader, 4-H Youth Development

Sarah Francis.Sarah Francis

Interim Director,
Human Sciences;
Interim Associate Dean,
College of Human Sciences