Search results

Help Support Research and Scholarship!

August 20, 2010

The ITI, in concert with the Iowa Golf Course Superintendent Association, holds the annual ITI/Iowa GCSA Benefit Golf tournament to secure funding for Research and Scholarship.

The ITI/Iowa GCSA Benefit has a long tradition of support from Sponsors and Players. Thanks to all who continue to contribute to making this the best of events that support Turfgrass Research & Education.

ITI/Iowa GCSA Benefit Golf Tournament
August 30, 2010

Des Moines Golf & Country Club
Host Superintendent: Rick Tegtmeier, CGCS
11 AM Buffet lunch - Noon Shotgun Start
2 Person selective drive/ alternate shot
$100 per player

Click here to download the team registration form.


2011 Awards and Scholarship Recipients

February 2, 2012

Congratulations to all the 2011 Award and Scholarship Recipients.  If you would like to nominate someone in 2012 visit to find information and nomination forms from the Iowa Golf Course Superintendent, Iowa Sports Turf Managers, and Iowa Professional Lawn Care awards.   

Iowa Golf Course Superintendents Association

Distinguished Service Award - Ken Ellenson, CGCS, Amana Colonies Golf Course

Ken Ellenson, CGCS  (center) with Randy Robinson (left) and Brett Parcher (right).

Superintendent of the Year - Nick Cummins, Westwood Golf Course

Nick Cummins (right) with Randy Robinson (left).

Environmental Stewardship Award - Terry Hannah, Superintendent, Jester Park Golf Course

Terry Hannah (center) with 2010 recipient Rick Tegtmeier, CGCS (left), and Randy Robinson (right).

Charles Calhoun Writing Award - Jon Christenson, Superintendent, Monarch Bay Golf Club (not pictured)

Iowa Sports Turf Managers Association

Iowa Sports Turf Manager of the Year - Tim Van Loo, CSFM, Iowa State Athletics

Tim Van Loo with wife Amber, son Steven, and daughter Sam.

Iowa Baseball Field of the Year - Rick House, Sports Field Manager, Council Bluffs Recreation Complex

Rick House (center) with Tony Senio (left) and Zach Smith (right).

Golden Cleat Award Recipient - Bryan Wood, Owner, Commercial Turf & Tractor

Bryan Wood (right) with Tony Senio (left).

Iowa State University Scholarship Winners

Adam Grimm - A.E. Cott and Charles Hall Scholarships

Adam Grimm (right) with Greg Harkin (left).

Kevin Hansen - Iowa GCSA Legacy Scholarship and ISTMA Scholarship

Kevin Hansen (right) with Tony Senio (left).

Shane Lohman - Bob Clark Scholarship and Iowa GCSA Scholarship

Shane Lohman (right) with Randy Robinson (left).

Joe Parker - Bob Clark Scholarship and Kevin Reiter Memorial Scholarship

Joe Parker (right) with Randy Robinson (left)




August 23, 2013

Dan Strey, ISU graduate student and research associate received 3rd place in the national Golf Course Superintendent Association of America (GCSAA) essay contest.  The prize was a $1000 scholarship.  Congratulations Dan!

The story from GCSAA is below:

Derek Pruyne, John Parvin, and Dan Strey, are winners of the 2013 Golf Course Superintendents Association of America (GCSAA) Student Essay Contest.

Open to GCSAA members who are undergraduate or graduate students pursuing degrees in turfgrass science, agronomy or any field related to golf course management, the GCSAA Essay Contest accepts entries with a focus on golf course management. The scholarship funding is provided by the Environmental Institute for Golf (EIFG) through the Robert Trent Jones Endowment. The EIFG is GCSAA’s philanthropic organization.

Judges from the GCSAA Scholarship Committee select winners to receive scholarships and the first place entry may be published or excerpted in the association's official publication, GCM. Pruyne, from State College, Pa., is a first-year graduate student at Penn State University. He won the first place scholarship of $2,000 for his essay: "Implications of Rising Atmospheric Carbon Dioxide on Turfgrass Systems."

Parvin, from White Lake Township, Mich., is a senior at Michigan State University. With his paper "Golf Course Management, a Stimulating Science," Parvin won the second place prize of $1,500 for the second consecutive year.

Strey, from Ames, Iowa, is in his first year of graduate school at Iowa State University. He claimed the third place award of $1,000 for his writing: "Alternatives to Synthetic Herbicides."

"Derek, John and Dan are wonderful examples of the industry’s future," GCSAA President Patrick R. Finlen, CGCS, said. "We are proud to honor their achievements on behalf of the GCSAA membership, and it will be exciting to see where they go from here."

The picture below is of Dan at the Bird's Nest stadium in Beijing this summer.  He attended the International Turfgrass Research meetings in July.



July 19, 2012

The following is a post by John Newton, CGCS of Veenker Memorial Golf Course in Ames.  It concerns a scholarship in the name of one of his former employees who is deceased.  Derek was one of the turf students and worked at Veenker.


(From John Newton)

Thanks to the Harmon family in developing this special scholarship.   Tess Balsley (Clubhouse manager at Veenker Memorial  Golf Course) needs to be recognized for all the efforts she has put in to raise the funds for this scholarship.  Organizing promoting the Tournament with Derek’s Fraternity, Friends, tip jar for Derek and the Turf industry (especially John Ausen for supplying an annual golf club donation).  We have this year raised enough funds to endow the scholarship.  An endowed scholarship is a minimum of $25,000.00.   Thanks to all who have and continued to support this Scholarship.

The students that receive the first winners of the Derek Harmon scholarship represent the hardworking Iowa State University student.  Hard working students that are developing into young turf professionals.  The many ways they develop the skills required in the turf industry are to be good students, internships and working at Iowa State University.  (One of the things Derek was always talking about is the great experience’s he had with his internships at (Veenker, Pinehurst, Vail Colorado)

The Horticulture Turfgrass Program at Iowa State is one of the Nation’s leading Turf grass Programs.  One of the signs that tell how gifted the Iowa State Student and staff is the dominance Iowa State has had in the annual Turf Bowl competitions.  Although there is numerous good turf schools that compete in this annual event Iowa State  dominants the Turf Bowl Competition.   


Now for the winners

Kirk Hudson received a $1,000.00 scholarship, Kirk has worked at Veenker the past two school years and has done an internship at Copper Creek and is currently working at Wakonda in Des Moines.

Joel Reiker  receives a $250.00 scholarship, Joel is currently working at Iowa State Athletics in the Athletic Turf side of the industry.  Joel is doing what was part of a special project at Veenker.  A Iowa State logo painting.

Congratulations to both of these gentleman and thanks to all who have helped in donations and materials for this scholarship.