ServSafe Food Safety Training

Iowa State University Extension - offers several ServSafe® classes a year for food service professionals. ServSafe® training will provide knowledge every food service provider must know about. The class will address food hazards and proper food handling practices in order to keep food safe and protect the establishment against the costly nightmare of a foodborne-illness outbreak. Participants will learn ways of prevention, regulatory requirements, and how to improve food quality. Class size is limited and fills up well ahead of the class date (weeks or months ahead), so early registration is necessary. Deadline is three weeks prior to class date.
Upcoming English-language classes are:

  • Tuesday, January 7 - Sioux City
  • Monday, February 10 - Sioux City
  • Monday, March 9 - Sioux City
  • Wednesday, March 18 - Sheldon
  • Tuesday, April 14 - Sioux City
  • Wednesday, April 15 - Spencer
  • Tuesday, May 12 - Spirit Lake
  • Wednesday, May 13 - Sioux City
  • Monday, June 29 - Spencer
  • Tuesday, June 30 - Sioux City
  • Tuesday, July 28 - Sheldon

To attend, you will need to register online through this link.
Upcoming Spanish-language classes are:

  • TBD

Classes will be taught by Renee Sweers, Nutrition and Health Specialist for ISU Extension and Outreach and Carol Larvick, UNL Extension Dakota County. Both are certified ServSafe® Instructors.
You must register online hereSpace in the class is not reserved until you do so. No registrations are taken by phone or form.
  
The registration fee of $150 per person will cover eight hours of training (8:30-5:30), the ServSafe® Essentials Manual (6th edition), and the exam and certification. Participants will have the option of testing for certification upon training completion. Those who score 75% or higher on the exam will be ServSafe® certified for five years by the National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation (NRAEF).

For registration questions call 800-262-0015 or Renee at email rsweers@iastate.edu, Woodbury County Extension Office (712)-276-2157

Share |