Youth Compete in Iowa 4-H Dairy Quiz Bowl

June 13, 2024, 11:02 am | Sydney Peterson, Celine Beggs-Shoemaker

4-H Dairy Quiz Bowl Champion Senior Team.AMES, Iowa – Teams from Delaware, Dubuque and Fayette counties competed for top honors during the Dairy Quiz Bowl at Starmont High School in Arlington on June 11. Thirty-four 4-H youth participated in the event, showcasing their extensive knowledge of dairy production, nutrition, anatomy and more.

Along with challenging themselves to answer the difficult questions, senior teams competed for the chance to travel to Louisville, Kentucky, to participate in the National Dairy Quiz Bowl in November.

"The Dairy Quiz Bowl is an engaging event that encourages young people to learn and showcase their knowledge about dairy production, animal science and the industry in a fun, interactive competition," said Celine Beggs-Shoemaker, 4-H animal science education specialist with Iowa State University Extension and Outreach.

A mixed team of youth from Fayette and Dubuque counties earned the grand champion title with team members Aaron Steward, Wyatt Schmitt, Adley Rahe and Carson Rauen. Fayette County also won in the intermediate competition following outstanding performances from James Steward, Gracie Walz, Chloe Sparrgrove and Lily Holthaus. In the senior division, Fayette County continued its winning streak. Team members were Ethan Palmer, Natalie Hamlett, Blake Sparrgrove and Hannah Scott.

Before the competition, each participant also completed a written exam. These scores were used to determine the seeding and counted toward each match's final scores. The top scorers in each division were Adley Rahe from Dubuque County in the junior division, Karl Zumbach from Delaware County in the intermediate division and Ethan Palmer from Fayette County in the senior division.

For more information on the Iowa 4-H Youth Development program, please contact your ISU Extension and Outreach county office or visit the Iowa 4-H website at

Shareable photos

  • Champion Senior Team: (L to R) Fayette County – coach Peggy Sparrgrove, Natalie Hamlett, Hannah Scott, Blake Sparrgrove, Ethan Palmer, coach Molly Ihde and coach Kathleen Scott.
  • Champion Junior Team: (L to R) Fayette/Dubuque County – Aaron Stewart, Wyatt Schmitt, Carson Rauen and Adley Rahe.
  • High Exam Individuals:(L to R) Ethan Palmer, Fayette County; Adley Rahe, Dubuque County; and Karl Zumbach, Delaware County.
About the Authors: