State Champions Named in 4-H Livestock Quiz Bowl and Skillathon Competitions

September 22, 2020, 9:49 am | Amy Powell

Plymouth County team.AMES, Iowa - Plymouth and Franklin counties were crowned the 4-H livestock quiz bowl champions in the 2020 virtual contest held Sept. 1-6.  

Forty-three youth participated in the competition that consisted of 30 multiple choice questions covering beef, sheep, goats and swine. The champion senior team was comprised of Mia Haage, Regan Peters, Jace Fisher, Wade Fisher and Mason Peters from Plymouth County. This team would have represented Iowa at the National 4-H competition in Louisville, Kentucky, later this fall, but due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the national event has been cancelled. The mixed division champion was Franklin County and team members were Brianna Christensen, Macy Christensen, Rylee Keehn and Rachel Wilkerson.

The skillathon competition consisted of 50 questions that covered livestock equipment identification, breed identification, retail cut identification, quality assurance, meat evaluation, nutrition case study and breeding scenario. The winning senior team was the team from Plymouth County. The mixed division champion was from Franklin County and team members included Isaac Vosburg, Teaghan Bird, Natalie Dohlman and Madison Vietor.

Amy Powell, 4-H youth animal science program specialist with Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, organized the contest. Powell said that the goals of these competitions are for youth to develop positive interests and attitudes about animal science and related careers; gain a base of knowledge of animal science projects; utilize skills and abilities to solve everyday situations; process information, analyze complex problems and make informed decisions regarding current agricultural, environmental, and livestock industry issues; and ultimately have an increased number of participants seek out higher education opportunities and careers related to animal science.

This event was sponsored by the Iowa 4-H Foundation.

PHOTOS available

Plymouth: (Left to right) Regan Peters, Mason Peters, Mia Haage, Jace Fisher, Wade Fisher.

Franklin, quiz bowl: (Left to right) Macy Christensen, Rylee Keehn, Rachel Wilkerson, Brianna Christensen.

Franklin, skillathon: (Left to right) Natalie Dohlman, Madison Vietor, Isaac Vosburg, Teaghan Bird.

About the Authors: