Petrzelka Elected President for CARET North Central Region

He represents Iowa State University in national grassroots organization

October 26, 2016, 9:06 am | Cathann A. Kress, Robert Dodds

Bob PetrzelkaAMES, Iowa – Iowan Bob Petrzelka recently was elected north central region president of the Council for Agricultural Research, Extension and Teaching. He has been a delegate to this national grassroots organization since 2013, representing Iowa State University Extension and Outreach and the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.

CARET was created in 1982 by deans of agriculture at land-grant universities, including Iowa State University. The organization works closely with the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities, and is composed of representatives from the 50 states, the U.S. territories and the District of Columbia. It advocates for greater national support and understanding of the land-grant university system's food and agricultural research, extension and teaching programs that enhance the quality of life for all people.

“CARET also works with national agricultural organizations to tell agriculture's ‘story.’ Bob has done a great job telling Iowa State’s story and we’re pleased he is taking this leadership role,” said Cathann Kress, Iowa State University vice president for extension and outreach.

Petrzelka, of Mt. Pleasant, is president and founder of Geode Forestry Inc., located in Swedesburg. A native of Cedar Rapids, he received his bachelor’s degree in forest resource management from Iowa State University in 1979.

“Bob understands the value of education and partnerships. In addition to representing Iowa State with CARET and advocating at the national level, Bob volunteers at numerous forestry field days and shares his knowledge at environmental education events here in Iowa. He shares ISU Extension and Outreach’s vision for a strong Iowa,” Kress said.

The CARET North Central Region includes Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

[PHOTO] Bob Petrzelka

About the Authors: