Iowa State Launches Searches for Extension and Outreach VP, Vet Med Dean

September 28, 2017, 8:23 am | Rob Schweers

Senior vice president and provost Jonathan Wickert has launched searches for the next dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine and vice president of ISU Extension and Outreach.

Both units have interim leaders, Pat Halbur in Veterinary Medicine and John Lawrence in extension and outreach, who will serve until the permanent leaders are on the job, likely in summer 2018.

The startup of the searches has been timed so that Iowa State University's next president, once named, will participate in the interviews and hiring decisions.

The searches will begin with the nomination of candidates and development of diverse candidate pools. Off-campus interviews are scheduled for January-February 2018, with on-campus interviews in February-March.

Extension and Outreach VP

Laura Jolly, dean of the College of Human Sciences, and Sarah Nusser, vice president for research, will co-chair the search for the next vice president of extension and outreach. Greenwood/Asher and Associates will assist the committee. Joining Jolly and Nusser on the search committee are:

University members
    Lisa Bates, extension community and economic development, Ames
    Jennifer Bentley, extension agriculture and natural resources, Winneshiek county
    Matt Helmers, agricultural and biosystems engineering
    Himar Hernandez, extension community and economic development, Wapello county
    Chad Higgins, extension central administration
    Andrea Nelson, extension Region 13
    Kevin Schalinske, food science and human nutrition
    Angela Shaw, food science and human nutrition
    Cayla Taylor, extension 4-H youth development, Ames
    Barbara Woods, extension human sciences, Ames

External members
    Mary Greiman, Iowa Beef Foundation and Region 2 County Extension Council
    John Harms, Iowa State Fair Board
    Craig Hill, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation
    Bob Petrzelka, Council for Agricultural Research, Extension and Teaching

Veterinary Medicine dean

Beate Schmittmann, dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and Ann Marie VanDerZanden, associate provost for academic programs, will co-chair the search for the next dean of Veterinary Medicine. Parker Executive Search will assist the committee. Joining Schmittmann and VanDerZanden on the search committee are:

University members
    Karin Allenspach-Jorn, veterinary clinical services
    Amanda Fales-Williams, veterinary pathology
    Deanna Gerber, Vet Med student recruitment office
    Tom Johnson, Lloyd Veterinary Medical Center
    Anumantha Kanthasamy, biomedical sciences
    Michael Kimber, biomedical sciences
    Alejandro Ramirez, interim assistant dean
    Jim Roth, veterinary microbiology and preventive medicine
    Holly Salzbrenner, student chapter of the American Veterinary Medical Association
    Jennifer Schleining, veterinary diagnostic and production animal medicine

External members
    Randy Ackman, Iowa Veterinary Medical Association
    Marv Johnson, Dean’s advisory council
    Marcus Kehrli, USDA/ARS National Animal Disease Center (pending USDA approval)
    Clayton Kelling, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
    Greg Lear, Iowa Livestock Health Advisory Council
    Sue Robinson, Iowa Veterinary Specialties
    Kylee Thomas, Iowa Veterinary Medical Association

About the Authors: