Iowa 4-H Volunteers Inducted into the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame

August 30, 2017, 7:22 am | Bonnie Dalager, Tillie Good

Jerry PerkinsAMES, Iowa – On Sunday, Aug. 20, 121 Iowa 4-H volunteers from 94 counties were inducted into the 2017 Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame at the 4-H Exhibits Building at the Iowa State Fair. The inductees enjoyed a celebratory reception, sponsored by donors to the Iowa 4-H Foundation, shortly after the presentation ceremony.  

The honorees were selected by their respective counties for their service and dedication to 4-H, contributions to the lives of 4-H’ers and the program. Inductees served as club leaders, fair board members, council members, judges, financial supporters, Iowa State University Extension and Outreach staff members and various other positions. The inductees have demonstrated dedication, encouragement, commitment and guidance to Iowa’s 4-H youth through their years of service.

This year, the dedication and loyalty that the supporters and volunteers of the Iowa 4-H program have was highlighted by the induction of two Hall of Fame awardees who were over 100 years of age. The support of individuals like Alice Walters of Greene County and Ruth Angus of Ringgold County is a touching reminder of how great an impact each individual can make to the lives of young people.  

“We are honored to recognize these special individuals, for their advocacy and dedication to the Iowa 4-H program,” shared Emily Saveraid, Iowa 4-H Foundation executive director.

The Iowa 4-H Youth Development program is a volunteer-driven organization," said Tillie Good, state 4-H volunteer specialist. "Volunteers generously give their time and talents to work and learn in partnership with Iowa youth."

Biographies of this year’s inductees to the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame are available on the Iowa 4-H Foundation website, organized by year and by county.

The Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame was established in 2002 to help commemorate the 100th anniversary of 4-H.  For more information on the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame and the 2017 honorees, please visit

For more information on how you can join over 10,000 caring adult mentors by becoming an Iowa 4-H Volunteer, contact your local county Iowa State University Extension and Outreach office.   

[PHOTO] Jerry Perkins, Recipient of the State 4-H Hall of Fame award, Emily Saveraid, Executive Director Iowa 4-H Foundation, Tillie Good, Iowa 4-H Volunteer Development Specialist

The 2017 Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame Honorees by County

Adair- Lynn and Elaine Bohling
Adams- David L. Walters
Allamakee- Teresa Myers
Appanoose- Elizebeth Logsdon
Benton- Michelle Thoma
Black Hawk- Al and Jane Eilderts
Boone- Larry and Sandy Seeman
Bremer- Galan Kramer
Buchanan- Kaye Manson
Buena Vista- Melissa Fahr
Butler- Susan Schrage
Calhoun- Darcy Murley
Cass- Dennis and Karen Oathoudt
Cedar- Ann Mente
Cerro Gordo- Sterling C. Young
Cherokee- Margaret Woltman
Chickasaw- Marguerite Ashley
Clarke- Darwin Downing
Clay- Bill Biedenfeld
Clayton- Gary and Judy Burrack
Clinton- Don and Terri Swanton
Crawford- Dr. Doyle and Rhonda Slavik
Dallas- Randall Gibson, DVM
Davis- Janis Howard
Decatur- Dennis Hullinger
Delaware- Larry and Sandy Swanson
Des Moines- Joanne Denney
Dubuque- Jim Pancratz
Emmet- Clara Valen
Fayette- Patti Dillon
Floyd- Amy Staudt
Franklin- Darwin Meyer
Fremont- Douglas and Kerry Aistrope
Greene- Alice Walters
Grundy- Karen Benson
Guthrie- Frank Johnson
Hamilton- Kris Walker
Hancock- Rob Willms
Hardin- Harris and Dianna Haywood
Harrison- Barbara Schafer
Harrison- Linda Hennessy
Howard- Geraldine Tlusty
Humboldt- Deanna Nervig
Ida- Robert L.  Butcher
Iowa- Diane Wilson
Jackson- Mark Anderson
Jasper- Robert Maher
Jefferson- Dr. Gene Hoy
Johnson- Tom Wall
Jones- Lavern and Dorothy Nagel
Keokuk- Ron and Janis Collins
Kossuth- Kim Ruby
Lee- Garry Wayne Seyb Sr.
Linn- Linda Bigley
Louisa- Fred and Vonnie Carlson Family
Lyon- Cheryl Blankespoor
Madison- Bonnie (Raber) and LeRoy Songer
Mahaska- Jayne Ferguson
Marion- Deb VanWaardhuizen
Marshall- Deane Adams
Mills- Lisa Tallman
Mitchell- Lisa Emerson
Monona- Larry Kreger
Monroe- Annette Scieszinski
Montgomery- Earl Sunderman
O'Brien- Glenn Fuller
Osceola- Dr. Loretta Berkland, DVM
Page- Mark and Mary Cutler
Palo Alto- Denise Flaherty
Plymouth- John and Debra Ahlers
Pocahontas- Brian and Joann Francis
Polk- DeAnn Hebert
East Pottawattamie - Robert and Linda Andersen
West Pottawattamie - Maureen Olsen
Poweshiek- George Graham
Ringgold- Ruth Angus
Sac- J. Kitty Drey
Scott- Eugene and Julie Shocker
Shelby- Mike Thraen
Sioux- Joan Punt
Story- David and Alice Moody
Tama- Margaret Thomsen
Taylor- Lonnie and Billie Jean Barker
Union- Jack & Mona Quee
Van Buren- Janet Meek
Wapello- Don and Pat Swanson
Warren- Marie Henry
Washington- Keith and Sara Murphy
Wayne- Jean Lain
Webster- Dave Anderson
Winnebago- Paul Fitzgerald
Winneshiek- David and Brenda Broghamer
Woodbury- Lewis and Virginia Reyman
Worth- Mary Clagett
Wright- Leroy Jensen
STATE- Jerry Perkins

About the Authors: