Iowa 4-H Members Receive Awards from IH Collector's Club

August 31, 2018, 11:40 am | Jay Staker, Bonnie Dalager

AMES, Iowa – Twenty-one Iowa 4-H members qualified for special awards sponsored by the International Harvester Collector’s Club Chapter 5. Youth who exhibited projects related to IH/Farmall tractors, farm equipment or other items in the IH brand family in any class at the state fair were eligible to participate through an application process.  

IH award recipients and collector club members.4-H members provided information related to their project goals, process, problem solving, expenses and learning for an opportunity to win a monetary award and a one-year membership to the IH Collector’s Club Chapter 5.  

Youth receiving awards were invited to a special presentation at the Iowa State Fair. 4-H members receiving an award were given the opportunity to network with representatives from the agriculture engineering industry. Prizes totaling $7,500 were awarded to the recipients.

“This special awards opportunity is a great example of our industry partners supporting our 4-H members,” said Jay Staker, Iowa State University Extension and Outreach 4-H youth development partnership development manager. “This opportunity is providing a high-quality experience for our 4-H members, as well as support and recognition for their efforts to pursue their personal and educational goals.”   

The following 4-H’ers were recognized:

Science and Engineering: Tractors
Cole White, Clarke County – 1st Place, $1025
Andrew Van Nice, Scott County – 2nd Place, $925
Cameron Updike, Osceola County – 3rd Place, $825
Nathaniel Wenger, Henry County – 4th Place, $725
Camden Buffington, Henry County – 5th Place, $625
Miles Gerleman, Jefferson County – 6th Place, $525
Grant Hunter, Davis County – 7th Place, $425
Mickayla McCarty, Lucas County – 8th Place, $325
Ian Poll, Clinton County – 9th Place, $125
Joe Langbein, Sac County – 10th Place, $100
Science and Engineering: Cub Cadet
Anthony March, Delaware County – 1st Place, $250
Blake Bell, Cedar County – 2nd Place, $150
Science and Engineering: Implement
Dean Jolly, Marion County – 1st Place, $350
Science and Engineering: Other
Ashley Rosener, Crawford County – 1st Place, $350
Kyle Wessels, Clayton County – 2nd Place, $300
Jameson Bell, Washington County – 3rd Place, $200
Landon Benning, Osceola County – 4th Place, $50
Creative Visual Arts

Dylan Behrens, Clay Co. County – 1st Place, $100
Aleah Larson, Kossuth County – 2nd Place, $50
Ryan Keith Doud, Jefferson County – 1st Place, $50
Tyler Lund, Shelby County – 2nd Place, $25

For more information on the Iowa 4-H Youth Development program, visit the Iowa 4-H website at

PHOTO: 4-H award recipients with IH Collector's Club Chapter 5 members.

About the Authors: