Iowa 4-H Camera Corps Featured in Ladd Gallery

March 12, 2018, 10:42 am |

By Laurel McGonegle, 4-H State Council Marketing Committee

AMES, Iowa – Each year, the Iowa 4-H Camera Corps captures the beauty in communities around Iowa. Over the next few months, a collection of 60 Iowa 4-H Camera Corps members’ work will be on display at the Ladd Gallery in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

Through the Iowa 4-H Camera Corps program, 4-H’ers work together to creatively explore the world around them using photography and social media. They capture beautiful, powerful and unique photographs of communities from across of the state of Iowa. Each month, a photography topic/theme is provided with different subject matters as the primary focus.

An exhibition to celebrate the work of these young people opened Feb. 27 at the Ladd Gallery in Cedar Rapids and continues through May 13. Talented and creative 4-H members from 35 counties across Iowa have works exhibited. All are invited to see the collection. A closing reception for artists and their families will be held May 13 at the Ladd Gallery from 2-4 p.m.

The best photographs were submitted digitally from across the state to Iowa 4-H social media platforms. Voting took place through Iowa 4-H social media platforms and by a panel of professional photographer evaluators.

The gallery is organized into the top 10 people’s and juror’s choice photographs in three themes: “Orange you glad it’s fall,” “Creative portraits” and “Texture.”

For more information or to get involved in Iowa 4-H Camera Corps, visit the website,

Photos by the following youth Ladd Galleryare featured in the Iowa 4-H Camera Corps exhibition.

  • Adair County - Jennifer Holliday
  • Adams County - Emily Lauer
  • Allamakee County - Andrew Mellick, Violet Holthaus
  • Benton County - Samantha Walton
  • Boone County - Erin Barnes
  • Buena Vista County - Abby Bean
  • Calhoun County - Alicia Westering
  • Carroll County - Grace Reising, Rachel Steinkamp
  • Cass County - Kristin Templeman
  • Cedar County - Karli Langley
  • Clinton County - Kayleigh Slapnicka
  • Crawford County - Ashlee Brus, Ashley Rosener, Emily Frazier
  • Dallas County - Ashleigh White
  • Decatur County - Emmett Hagen
  • Des Moines County - Cade Cameron, Allison Dowd, Ashley Lohmann
  • Dickinson County - Amy Martin, Bryce Schott
  • Franklin County - Jenna White
  • Greene County - Samantha Hardaway
  • Grundy County - Soren Cleveland
  • Hancock County - Keifer Carlson
  • Henry County - Willow Barton
  • Howard County - Quinna Ollendieck
  • Jackson County - Allison Hager
  • Jasper County - Caleb Ness
  • Johnson County - Elizabeth Uthoff
  • Lyon County - Andraya Bahnson
  • Marshall County - Maesa Groth
  • Mitchell County - Drew Offen
  • Muscatine County - Caitlin Conaway
  • O’Brien County - Alec Schoof
  • Page County - Allyson Johnson
  • Story County - Adam Eichorn, Alec Sernett
  • Tama County - Karly Jans
  • Washington County - Alexandrea Murphy
  • Webster County - Alyssa Speck

Bonnie Dalager, 4-H Youth Program Specialist, 515-294-3082,
Clark Colby, 4-H Youth Program Specialist, 515-294-1991,

[Photo] Iowa 4-H Camera Corps exhibit in Ladd Gallery