Iowa 4-H Announces Dairy Quiz Bowl Contest Results

June 23, 2017, 8:04 am | Amy Powell

AMES, Iowa--The Iowa 4-H dairy quiz bowl competition was June 15 in Arlington, Iowa. Forty-five youth competed in this educational contest conducted by Iowa State University Extension and Outreach and the ISU Department of Animal Science. 

Dairy Champion Senior TeamThe dairy quiz bowl consists of a fifty question written test and a double elimination quiz bowl tournament. Participants explored the areas of dairy genetics, physiology, reproduction, lactation, dairy products, current events and other aspects of the dairy industry to prepare for the contest.  

Leo Timms, ISU Extension and Outreach dairy specialist said, “The dairy quiz bowl is an event that encourages youth to learn about science and the industry in a fun, interactive competition.”  

The junior division winner was the Delaware County team comprised of Alia Domeyer, Haley Ronnebaum and Audrey Kruse. The team was coached by Jennifer Zumbach.  

 In the intermediate division, top honors went to Trenton Hammerand, Grace Striet and Luke Brehm of the “Power Rangers Dairy Edition” team, Dubuque County. The team coach was Jeff Hammerand.  

The senior division team winners will represent Iowa at the National Contest in Louisville, Ky., this fall. Delaware County won the senior division with team members Cole Kruse, Amanda Engelken, Matt Hense and Tehya Demmer and coach Jennifer Zumbach.  

The written test portion of the contest was conducted prior to the event and scores were used to determine seeding and served as a portion of the overall score in quiz bowl. Awards were given to the top scorers in each division. Winners included Amanda Engleken, Delaware County, in the senior division; Amber Engleken, Delaware County, intermediate division. There was a tie in the junior division between Isaiah Hammerand, Dubuque County, and Haley Ronnebaum, Delaware County.

Photos of award winning teams

Champion Junior Team
Front row left to right: Haley Ronnebaum, Alia Domeyer, Audrey Kruse
Back row left to right: Becca Hermann, Nicole Engelken, Josh Thibadeau, Jennifer Zumbach, Brian Bagge (coaches)

Champion Intermediate Team
Left to right: Jennifer Hammerand, Trenton Hammerand, Luke Brehm, Grace Strief and Jeff Hammerand

Champion Senior Team
Front row left to right: Taya Demmer, Amanda Engelken, Cole Kruse
Back row left to right: Becca Hermann, Nicole Engelken, Josh Thibadeau, Jennifer Zumbach, Brian Bagge (coaches)

Junior Test Winners: Isaiah Hammerand and Haley Ronnebaum

Intermediate Test Winner: Amber Engelken

Senior Test Winner: Amanda Engelken

About the Authors: