Extension Professionals Receive University Awards

Awards recognize outstanding achievements of five individuals and one ISU Extension and Outreach team

September 26, 2018, 2:25 pm | Willy Klein

AMES, Iowa – Eleven extension professionals were honored during Iowa State University's annual awards ceremony Friday, Sept. 14, in the Memorial Union Great Hall. Beth Doran.Those honored included Beth Doran, beef specialist; Jerry Chizek, regional director; Sara Sprouse, nutrition and wellness specialist; Alison Robertson, field pathologist; Lee Schulz, extension economist, and a team of community development specialists - Lisa Bates, Himar Hernandez, Victor Oyervides, Jill Sokness, Scott Timm and Jon Wolseth.

Beth Ellen Doran
Beth Ellen Doran, extension beef program specialist, was honored by Iowa State University with the highest award bestowed on an extension professional, the Award for Distinguished Service in Extension. This award recognizes sustained distinguished performance and educational contributions to Iowa State clientele through extension programs.

Doran provides educational resources, hands-on learning opportunities and individual assistance to beef producers in the most concentrated cattle-producing region in the state. Her clients greatly respect her knowledge, professionalism and human compassion; and acknowledge her openly and regularly.

Doran also serves the beef team with her expertise in feedlot nutrition and management, program planning and program evaluation.

Jerry Chizek
Jerry Chizek, ISU Extension and Outreach’s Region 7 director, received the R.K. Bliss Award from Iowa State University. The award recognizes outstanding achievement of an ISU Extension and Outreach staff member for developing an overall or continuing extension education program. The award is named for Ralph K Bliss, the director of extension from 1912 to 1946.

Chizek has impacted countless Iowans through a variety of programs such as “Master Gardener Behind Bars,” which gives inmates at the North Central Correctional Facility an opportunity to make positive use of their time at the facility; “Crucial Conversations,” a training program for facilitating conversations on sensitive topics; and “Youth Fire and Emergency Services Day,” a program to raise the visibility of and interest in volunteer fire departments.

Sara Sprouse
Sara Sprouse, a human science specialist in nutrition and wellness, received the Professional and Scientific New Professional Award. Sprouse works with people throughout 12 south central Iowa counties to educate individuals to improve or maintain health and well-being. She has rapidly embraced resources and community partners throughout her area to deliver priority programs in the areas of food safety, food preservation, child nutrition, and healthy living and eating to both lay audiences and professionals.

With experience as a Registered Nurse who has worked with school and public health initiatives, Sprouse has helped her teams collaboratively conduct critical reviews of programs and generate fresh ideas for leveraging research-based information to educate Iowans and help them develop stronger relationships, healthier families and thriving communities.

Alison Robertson
Alison Robertson, professor of plant pathology and microbiology and extension field pathologist, received the Award for Outstanding Achievement in Extension or Professional Practice. The award recognizes her demonstrated outstanding performance in statewide leadership in extension practice and national recognition for outreach activities. She has authored many traditional research and extension publications and recently co-authored and co-edited books titled “A Farmer’s Guide to Corn Diseases” and “A Farmer’s Guide to Soybean Diseases.”

Lee Schulz
Lee Schulz, assistant professor of economics and extension economist, received the Award for Early Achievement in Extension or Professional Practice. Since joining the faculty in 2012, Schulz has provided leadership and extension-focused programming on the critical issues facing Iowa’s livestock and meat industries, such as animal identification and traceability, market analysis, consumer demand, animal disease economics and risk management.

community development specialists and John Lawrence.Latino Business and Entrepreneurship Team
The Iowa State University Award for Achievement in Economic Development in Iowa was presented to the  Latino Business and Entrepreneurship Team, a team of community development specialists - Lisa Bates, Himar Hernandez, Victor Oyervides, Jill Sokness, Scott Timm and Jon Wolseth.

Their work with Latino entrepreneurs has impacted more than 150 businesses in Iowa. Recently, they have broadened their scope to entrepreneurs from other minority business groups, including African-American and refugee populations, which is meeting a growing economic need as Iowa’s population becomes more ethnically and racially diverse. Their work has been recognized by national media such as Good Morning America and the Wall Street Journal, and by academic and community economic development organizations.

PHOTO: Vice President for ISU Extension and Outreach John Lawrence congratulates the Latino Business and Entrepreneurship Team (Scott Timm, Lisa Bates, John Lawrence, Victor Oyervides, Jon Wolseth, Himar Hernandez and Jill Sokness) on their university award.

About the Authors: