Conservation Learning Group Presents New Voices in Water Quality in Iowa Awards

15 individuals lauded for their ongoing efforts to promote water quality

October 11, 2022, 2:18 pm | Ann Staudt

AMES, Iowa – Fifteen Iowans were recognized as New Voices in Water Quality in Iowa during a luncheon held at Reiman Gardens on the Iowa State campus in Ames on Oct. 4. In addition, four college-age individuals were named Emerging Voices in Water Quality in recognition of their ongoing advocacy and action regarding water and the future of Iowa.

The recognition was bestowed by the Conservation Learning Group, a think tank based at Iowa State University Extension and Outreach and dedicated to addressing conservation and environmental challenges.

New voices in water quality.The organization's director, Jacqueline Comito of ISU Extension and Outreach, welcomed the recipients and nominators, provided an overview of the award program and thanked the Iowa Department of Natural Resources for funding the awards program.

“Steve Hopkins and Allen Bonini (now retired) at the DNR encouraged us to go out and find people that we all know work tirelessly and demonstrate an ongoing respect for and love of water,” said Comito. “When we asked the public, we received a diversity of nominees from all parts of the state, urban and rural, young and old, professionals, teachers, farmers, and simply advocates. These award recipients are here today because others in this state recognized their contributions and efforts out there every day working to make a difference.”

A compilation video of the New Voices in Water Quality in Iowa awardees is available at New Voices. In addition to receiving a mixed media art print featuring images from the Conservation Station trailers, each person is profiled on the New Voices in Water Quality website. To learn more about the New Voices awardees, please follow these links to their profile pages: Kayla Bergman, Bethany Brittenham, Amanda Brown, Ross Evelsizer, Steve Gustafson, Dan Haug, Susan Kozak, Milt R. Owen, Spencer Pech, Katie Rock, Kay Stefanik, Loran Steinlage, Anjanette Treadway, Alicia Vasto, and Karen Wilke.

The Emerging Voices in Water Quality awardees are Summer Awad, Lydia Brown, Kaylin Carel, and Niko Stevens. To view a video of these passional young people, please visit Emerging Voices.

Emerging voices in water quality.“We applaud all these Iowans and are excited that we can share a microphone with these new voices and encourage emerging voices to help make progress addressing our water quality together,” concluded Comito.

The Conservation Learning Group is a collaborative team established to advance training, outreach, and research across land uses and production systems to increase overall sustainability of agricultural and natural systems for multiple generations to come.

Shareable photos: 1. New Voices in Water Quality in Iowa (L-R) Kay Stefanik, Milt R. Owen, Amanda Brown, Kayla Bergman, Anjanette Treadway, Susan Kozak, Spencer Pech, Bethany Brittenham, Alicia Vasto, Karen Wilke, Katie Rock, Ross Evelsizer, Dan Haug and Steve Gustafson. (Not pictured: Loran Steinlage)

2. Emerging Voices in Water Quality (L-R) Kaylin Carel, Niko Stevens, Summer Awad
(Not pictured: Lydia Brown)

About the Authors: