43 Iowa 4-H Staff Awarded for Outstanding Achievements

October 25, 2021, 3:32 pm | Valyn Bodensteiner, Tillie Good

AMES, Iowa – Forty-three Iowa State University Extension and Outreach staff members were honored in October at the Iowa 4-H YouthFest professional development conference. Award recipients were recognized for their impact on local communities, accomplishments in their field and embodiment of the ISU Extension and Outreach 4-H mission.

Visionary Award - THR!VE Team.The award ceremony was held Oct. 20 in Ames as a part of the annual YouthFest conference, which brings together ISU Extension and Outreach staff from all over the state to celebrate the work they are doing and participate in workshops and educational opportunities in the field of 4-H youth development.

“Iowa 4-H staff are among the best in the nation,” said Debbie Nistler, 4-H state program leader. “It is always exciting to recognize their outstanding accomplishments!”

The Achievement in Service Award was given to Logan Kinyon, Lucas County youth coordinator; Hailey Burgher, Davis County youth coordinator; and Landon Calderwood, West Pottawattamie youth outreach coordinator. This award is presented to county staff with three or fewer years in the position and who have made a difference for the Iowa 4-H program in that short time.

The Distinguished Service Award was given to Hannah Dibble, Dickinson County youth K-12 educator. This award is presented to county staff who have been in their position between four and 10 years and have made a difference in their 4-H community.

The Meritorious Service Award was given to Lisa Zeman, Pocahontas County youth coordinator, and Andrea Traeger, Grundy County 4-H and youth coordinator. This award is given to staff who have made a difference in their career of 11 or more years.

The Youth Program Specialist Award was given to Shelly Ramus, volunteer development specialist, and Kendra Crooks, youth program specialist. This award is given to youth program specialists for their effort to support county staff programming and for their overall achievement in the position.

The Outstanding Team Award was given to two teams this year. The East Central Field Team was recognized for Connect Touchpoint Programming. Members are Amy Schmitt D’Amico, Amanda Rau, Andrea Traeger, Annette Brown, Bailey Clemens, Brittany Moore, Carolyn Clark, Chelsea Llewellyn, Emily Damro, Haley Mostaert, Jacki Luckstead, J.D. Otterbein, Jenny Hulme, Jess Soderstrum, Katie Lubbert, Katie Peterson, Leslie Stonehocker, Lori Hardman, Mary Wilkins, Megan Carlson, Natalie Hedlund, Sheila Hlas, Teresa Bohlmann, Devan Cress and Sarah Ludwig. The Region 13 Team was recognized for the Quest to Be the Best Club Leader Volunteer Retreat. Members are Hallie Robinette, Ann Carter, Mary Taggs, Paulette Madson, Toni Wiese and Aubrey Sholty. This award is given to recognize a team’s efforts to work together and address an identified need or to create a successful programming effort.

The Visionary Award is given to a team or individual who demonstrates an innovative programming effort, uses a different delivery method, includes a new avenue or partner or reaches a new audience. The Iowa 4-H THR!VE Youth Adult Mindfulness Retreat Team was recognized; members are Tiffany Berkenes, Laura Liechty, Jacki Luckstead, Megan Freel, Logan Kinyon, Landon Calderwood and Tyler Weig. Amy Powell also received the Visionary Award for her achievements with Livestock Skillathon.

To find out more about these individuals and the work they are doing for Iowa youth, contact their respective ISU Extension and Outreach county offices at www.extension.iastate.edu/countyservices.

Shareable photos

About the Authors: