40 Iowa Youth Begin New Terms on State 4-H Council

September 6, 2022, 9:46 am | Angie Dougherty

AMES, Iowa – Forty Iowa youth are beginning their new terms as State 4-H Council members. These young leaders will serve as ambassadors for the 4-H Youth Development program throughout the state and in their local counties this year.

To be considered for the State 4-H Council, each member submitted a written application and then participated in interviews with a panel of 4-H mentors. This selective process focused on how candidates demonstrate their leadership and communication skills, as well as their potential to contribute as a part of a large group.

Iowa 4-H State Council.“Council members have the opportunity to grow a variety of life skills including teamwork, communication and critical thinking. As advocates for Iowa 4-H, council members will take an active role in serving their ambassador counties across the state, and work in unity by leading statewide service projects,” said Angie Dougherty, Iowa State University Extension and Outreach 4-H youth program specialist.

As a part of the council, members are responsible for organizing and implementing the annual Iowa 4-H Youth Conference, which brings hundreds of high school students to Iowa State University’s campus for three days in June. Council members also serve at the Iowa State Fair and other Iowa 4-H events and visit counties to share with 4-H members how to get involved with state and national 4-H opportunities. The council members also coordinate, promote and oversee the 4-H’ers for 4-H fundraising campaign.

“State Council has taught me how to be a better leader in my community and how important it is to find ways to help others,” explained Emma Brennan, who represents Plymouth County and will be serving her second term on the State Council. “This year I am looking forward to seeing what new and exciting ideas the council has, growing together as leaders and making new friends!”

Council members attend multiple retreats throughout the year that focus on developing leadership, civic engagement, communication and personal life skills, while also providing opportunities to work as a team and to make friends.

The State 4-H Council members represent all parts of Iowa. They work to give back to their communities and help 4-H Youth Development best serve the youth of Iowa.

  • Central Iowa council members: Addie Burkett, Madison County; Bridget Johnson, Polk County; Kaci Vanlaningham, Polk County; Madison Geater, Story County; Nathaniel Scott, Boone County; and Sasha McCoy, Warren County.
  • North central council members: Amanda Ostrem, Hamilton County; Andrew Hommel, Grundy County; Casey Leerhoff, Butler County; Emily Waugh, Hamilton County; Hadley Shatek, Cerro Gordo County; Holden Willrett, Worth County; Jubilee Cunigan, Webster County; Madison Branstad, Winnebago County; Sydney Schilling, Worth County; and Teagan Johnson, Worth County.
  • Northeast council members: Abby Elsamiller, Bremer County; Alaina Gebel, Allamakee County; Anna Egan, Fayette County; Autumn Schmitt, Winneshiek County; Brody Kuhse, Bremer County; Brooke Hansel, Clayton County; and Kysa Klein, Bremer County.
  • Northwest council members: Derek Goth, Cherokee County; Emma Brennan, Plymouth County; Gensley Ball, Clay County; Katie Bryant, Cherokee County; Lavertus Klocke, Pocahontas County; and Maria McGowan, Woodbury County.
  • Southeast council members: Ashlynn Hamilton, Appanoose County; Kaylee Nicholas, Linn County; Kira Ingwersen, Linn County; Madallyn Gunzenhauser, Lucas County; Morgan McKay, Marion County; and Nehemiah Westercamp, Van Buren County.
  • Southwest council members: Allyson Johnson, Page County; Megan Wells, Mills County; Miles Bogue, Carroll County; Molly Freese, Carroll County; and Parker Weirich, East Pottawattamie County.

Shareable photo: 4-H State Council members, 2022-2023


About the Authors: