40 Iowa 4-H Staff Awarded for Outstanding Achievements

November 14, 2022, 9:41 am | Tillie Good, Elizabeth Settles Huffman

4-H staff award recipients.AMES, Iowa – Forty Iowa State University Extension and Outreach staff members were honored in October at the Iowa 4-H YouthFest professional development conference. Award recipients were recognized for their impact on local communities, accomplishments in their field and embodiment of the ISU Extension and Outreach 4-H mission.

The award ceremony was held Oct. 26 in Ames as a part of the annual YouthFest conference, which brings together ISU Extension and Outreach staff from all over the state to celebrate the work they are doing and participate in workshops and educational opportunities in the field of 4-H youth development.

“Iowa 4-H staff are among the best in the nation,” said Debbie Nistler, 4-H state program leader. “It is always exciting to recognize their outstanding accomplishments.”

The Achievement in Service Award was given to Amber McClary, Mills County youth coordinator; Maya Rowe, Cerro Gordo County youth coordinator; and Lori Dietzenbach, Buchanan County PK-12 outreach coordinator. This award is presented to county staff with three or fewer years in the position who have made a difference for the Iowa 4-H program in that short time.

The Distinguished Service Award was given to Brynna Baumhover, Hamilton County youth coordinator; Amy Schmitt-D’Amico, Linn County youth outreach coordinator; and JD Otterbein, Linn County youth coordinator. This award is presented to county staff who have been in their position between four and 10 years and have made a difference in their 4-H community.

The Youth Program Specialist Award was given to Alexa Groff, STEM coordinator, and Kim Kuester, youth program specialist. This award is given to youth program specialists for their effort to support county staff programming and for their overall achievement in the position.

The Outstanding Team Award was given to two teams this year. The Northeast Field Team was recognized for Youth Voice in Action: Youth Leadership Summit. Members are Kendra Crooks, Patrick Dirks, Angie Dougherty, Ashley Horgen, Heather Henning, Marissa Foels, Michele Kelly, Cody Emery, Peggy Schilling, Nicole Reynolds, Emily Martins, Lori Dietzenbach, Andrea Hobson, Becky Rea and Josey Nolan. The Region 22 Team was recognized for Find Your Vibe -- Create the Life You Love. Members are Rhesa Leiding, Mandy Mahrer, Jessica Prazan, Lexy Davies, Dee Dino, Amber McClary, Abby Sorenson and Julie Hering-Kent. This award is given to recognize a team’s efforts to work together and address an identified need or to create a successful programming effort.

The Visionary Award is given to a team or individual who demonstrates an innovative programming effort, uses a different delivery method, includes a new avenue or partner or reaches a new audience. The Urban Leadership Academy team from Polk County was recognized. Members are Michelle Schott, Madisen Gaskin, Megan Freel and Virginia Atwell. The Mental Health Matters team also received the Visionary Award. Members are Annette Brown, Megan Carlson, Shelly Ramus, Bonnie Dalager, Shayla Lien and David Brown.

To find out more about these individuals and the work they are doing for Iowa youth, contact their respective ISU Extension and Outreach county offices.

About the Authors: