39 Iowa Youth Begin New Term on State 4-H Council

July 25, 2018, 3:00 pm | Haley Jones

AMES, Iowa – Thirty-nine Iowa youth are beginning their 2018-2019 terms as State 4-H Council members following an induction ceremony during the 2018 Iowa 4-H Youth Conference, June 28.

32 state council members.These young leaders will serve as ambassadors for the Iowa 4-H Youth Development program throughout the state and in their local counties, said Haley Jones, Iowa State University Extension and Outreach 4-H youth program specialist.  

To be considered for the State 4-H Council, each member submitted a written application and then participated in face-to-face interviews with a panel of 4-H mentors. This selective process focuses on how candidates communicate their leadership and communication skills, as well as their potential to contribute as a part of a large group.

“Council members have the opportunity to gain a variety of life skills including communication, leadership and professionalism. They are advocates for the Iowa 4-H program and that responsibility can help them further develop good character as they represent the  4-H program, state council group and themselves while serving in their ambassador counties across the state,” said Jones.

As a part of the council, members are responsible for organizing and implementing the annual Iowa 4-H Youth Conference, which brings over 700 high school students to the Iowa State University campus for three days each June. Council members also serve at the Iowa State Fair and other Iowa 4-H events, and visit counties to share with 4-H'ers how to get involved with state and national 4-H opportunities. The council members also coordinate, promote and oversee the 4-H’ers for 4-H fundraising campaign.

“Serving on state council presented me with numerous leadership, civic engagement and networking opportunities that no other organization that I am involved with has,” said Hope Dohlman who represents Howard County and will be serving her second term on the state council. “My leadership skills grew immensely through organizing the youth conference with my fellow council members, leading and speaking at 4-H events in both my home county and ambassador counties, and so much more.”

Council members attend multiple retreats throughout the year that focus on developing leadership, civic engagement, communication and personal life skills, while also providing opportunities to work as a team and make friends.

“The state council is typically made up of 40 youth from across the state but this year will be an exception as the council members have decided to leave the 40th spot open in memory of their fellow council member, Jacy McAlexander, who recently lost his courageous battle to cancer. Jacy had gone through the application and interview process and was accepted to serve his second term back in March prior to his passing,” said Jones.

The State 4-H Council members represent all parts of Iowa. They work to give back to their communities and help 4-H Youth Development best serve the youth of Iowa.


2018-2019 State 4-H Council members

Council members/home county – Southwest Area
Front, L-R: Jamie Hoss-Polk, Claire Sattler- Polk, Carly Bigelow- Polk, Leah Millikan-Harrison, Cameryn Schafer-Harrison
Back, L-R: Emma Seipold- Mills, Ben Means-Polk, Brendan Mass- Mills, Lydia Johnson-Polk

Council members/home county – Northwest Area
Front, L-R: Aubrey Kooima-Sioux, Alex Movall-Sac, Connor Pickhinke-Sac, Kendall Snyder-Buena Vista, Annie Lord-Woodbury
NP: Nick McGowan-Woodbury, Lauren Sobaski-Woodbury, Beauna Thammathai- Buena Vista, In memory, Jacy McAlexander-Calhoun

Council members/home county – East Area (Southeast and Northeast)
Front, L-R: Theresa Crawford-Poweshiek, Ellie Brown-Black Hawk, Hallie Sandeen-Henry, Lexi Mohlis-Bremer
NP: Hope Dohlman-Howard, Bailey Miculinich-Winneshiek
Council members/home county – Central Area
Front, L-R: Leah Mosher-Marshall, Lindsey Donnelly-Story, Josie Noland-Boone
Back, L-R: Jarrett Loseke-Webster, Emma Bailey-Hamilton, Claira Miller-Story, Ben Rima-Story
NP: Natalie Bretey-Boone, Ashley Kahler-Story
Council members/home county – North Central Area
Front, L-R: Emily Shatek-Cerro Gordo, Liliana Hill-Hancock, Sydney Patterson-Worth, Abigail Hoffman-Palo Alto,
Back, L-R: Emily Kapka-Wright, Kimberly Klooster-Worth, Julia Quisley-Worth


About the Authors: