County Extension Council

The elected Extension Council is the grass roots governing body for the Cooperative Extension System. As part of Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, the Linn County council works in partnership with local citizens, Iowa State University and the U.S. Department of Agriculture to carry the land-grant mission beyond the campus in Ames. The Linn County Extension Council are elected by the voters of Linn County and serve four year terms.

The County Agricultural Extension District Council made up of nine (9) members elected at large from the county governs Iowa State University (ISU) Extension and Outreach in Linn County. The council assumes responsibility for planning and carrying out of the extension programs in the county, including the establishment of a budget, levying a tax, authorizing payment of expenses, and employing the ISU Extension and Outreach Linn County staff.  

Linn County Extension COUNCIL MEETINGS are held the second Monday of each month at 5PM ( No meeting in July) and open to the public. Linn County residents are invited to attend and allowed to make comments at the start of the meeting.

Monday April 13, 2020 at 5:00pm
at the ISU Extension and Outreach Linn County
383 Collins Road NE, Suite 201
Cedar Rapids IA, 52402

April 13, 2020 Agenda


May 11, 2020
June 8, 2020
July 13, 2020
August 10, 2020
Meeting dates are subject to change.

We encourage potential agenda items to be submitted to the Extension Council Chair no later than 2 weeks prior to the meeting.  The open meetings law allows for agenda items to be added up to 24 hours in advance of the meeting.   However, all agenda items are added to the agenda at the discretion of the chair.


The Linn County Ag Extension Council designates sub-committees at the Organization meeting in January.    Current sub-committees of the Ag Extension Council include: Personnel, Strategic, Finance, and Facilities.  As of 1/14/19 these committees have 3 members.  An official meeting will include, at minimum, the County Director, one of the assigned committee members and a second Council member in attendance. Others may be invited as necessary.  The Ag Extension Council of Linn County employs a County Director (or designee) to conduct and manage day-to-day operations of the Council.

Strategy and Programs: David McDonald (Chair), Leland Freie, Dennis E. Jordan

Personnel: Patty Webster (Chair), Patricia Harstad, Claire Smith

Facilities: Dan Abel, Mike Anderson, Al Beach


What is the role of a County Extension Council Member?
• They represent their county – they bring an understanding of local issues to important decisions about educational opportunities.
• They bring significant programs to their county and region that help people solve critical issues affecting their lives.
• They represent Iowa State University Extension and Outreach and act on our behalf locally.
• They have the responsibility to be a good steward of taxpayer dollars.
• They provide mentoring and leadership for county paid staff.
• They agree to fulfill the responsibilities of the position, including regularly attending council meeting.

Linn County Extension Council Members:

Dan Abel
Toddville, Iowa

Mike Anderson
Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Leland Freie
Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Dennis E. Jordan
Marion, Iowa

David McDonald
Vice Chair
Centeral City, Iowa

Claire Smith
Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Patricia Webster
Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Share |