Staff

Amber Matthiesen


Jackson County Program Coordinator
amber@iastate.edu
(563)652-4923

Youth, 4-H, and Families

Jeannett Kruse


Office Manager
jlkruse@iastate.edu
(563)652-4923

Carolyn Clark


Youth Program Assistant
clark05@iastate.edu
(563)652-4923

Brittany Moore


4-H County Youth Coordinator
bamoore@iastate.edu
(563)652-4923

Katie Peterson


Region 12 Youth Program Specialist
katiejp@iastate.edu
(563)583-6496

Casey Codner


Human Sciences Specialist, Family Finance
ccodner@iastate.edu
(563)263-5701

Empowers individuals and families to acquire knowledge and skills to build financial security through effective management of resources, informed decisions, and increase of assets.

Danielle Day


Human Sciences Specialist, Family Life
daday@iastate.edu
(319)377-9839

Facilitates learning experiences with professionals and community groups to promote healthy relationships, well-being, quality child care, parenting, and caregiving.

Brian Dougherty


Agricultural Engineering Specialist
brian1@iastate.edu
(563)239-7070

dairy facilities, manure handling, water quality, biochar production and use, regenerative agriculture, soil health

Ryan Drollette


Field Specialists - Farm Management
drollett@iastate.edu
(319)337-2145

Farm Management, Dairy Economics, Livestock Economics, Marketing, Risk Management, Decision Tools, Farm Leasing  

Barbara Dunn Swanson


Human Sciences Specialist, Family Life
bdswanso@iastate.edu
(563)886-6157

Facilitates learning experiences with professionals and community groups to promote healthy relationships, well-being, quality child care, parenting, and caregiving.

Paul Mariman


Regional Extension Education Director
pmariman@iastate.edu
(563)583-6496

Coordinates programs and partnerships in Region 11 (Delaware, Dubuque and Jackson counties)

 

Patrick O'Malley


Field Specialists - Commercial Horticulture
omall@iastate.edu
(319)337-2145

commercial fruits and vegetables. Secondary areas of expertise: ornamental horticulture including greenhouse and nursery crops, and turfgrass

Kelsey Salow


Human Sciences Specialist, Nutrition and Wellness
ksalow@iastate.edu
(563)927-4201

Provides integrated content including family nutrition, health and wellness, food preservation and food safety.  

Virgil Schmitt


Field Specialist
vschmitt@iastate.edu
(563)263-5701

Production of corn, soybeans, small grains, and forages and the management of diseases, insects, and weeds that affect these crops

Denise Schwab


Beef Field Specialist
dschwab@iastate.edu
(319)721-9624

Production information related to nutrition, facilities, health, records analysis, and pasture and forage management for beef and sheep producers. Individual consultation on improving productivity in livestock operations.

Vera Stokes


Human Sciences Specialist, Nutrition & Wellness
vstokes@iastate.edu
(563)659-5125

Provides integrated content including family nutrition, health and wellness, food preservation and food safety.

Mark Storlie


Swine Field Specialist
mstorlie@iastate.edu
(563)425-3331

Swine production management – production pig flow, breeding and farrowing schedules, principles and application of PQA; initiating and utilizing production and financial records for management – marketing, cost control; analysis of nutritional feeding programs; alternative housing options – hoop buildings; mortality composting; contracting considerations – production & marketing; development & communication with employees – production handbooks; development of computer templates for management control or awareness; support of value-added production and marketing systems – organic, sustainable production, direct marketing.

Larry Tranel


Dairy Field Specialist
tranel@iastate.edu
(563)583-6496

Production, nutrition and farm management education in dairy and beef; Dairy milk quality and mastitis prevention; Trouble shooting livestock problems; New and Remodeled freestall/parlor and other livestock facility planning; Utilization of forages; Management intensive grazing; and farm family labor/personnel management.

Phyliss Zalenski


Human Sciences Specialist, Family Finance
zalenski@iastate.edu
(319)465-3224

Helps individuals acquire knowledge and skills to build financial security. Financial education empowers individuals and families to manage resources effectively, make informed decisions, and increase assets.

Share |