Iowa State University Extension

latino mother and sonExamining the well-being of rural Mexican immigrant mothers: A look at food security, housing and depression

Wednesday, May 13, 2009
12:00 Eastern / 11:00 am Central / 10:00 Mountain / 9:00 am Pacific

During the one hour webinar, findings related to food security, housing and depression of rural Mexican immigrant mothers who participated in the Rural Family Speaks, a multi-state research project examining the well-being of rural families, were shared.

 

Presentation Materials

  • Overview of research project and presentation

  • Food Security, presented by Yoshie Sano, Assistant Professor, Department of Human Development - Washington State University Vancouver

  • Housing, presented by Kimberly Greder, Associate Professor of Human Development and Family Studies & Family Life Extension State Specialist - Iowa State University

  • Depression, presented by Dawn Browder, Doctoral Candidate, Human Development and Family Studies - Iowa State University

 

References

Greder, K., Cook, C., Garasky, S., Sano, Y., and Randall, B. Rural Latino immigrant families: Hunger, housing, and social support. In R. L. Dalla, et al. (Eds.). Strengths and Challenges of New Immigrant Families: Implications for Research, Policy, Education and Service. Lexington, MA: The Lexington Press, Inc. Pages 345-367.

Sano, Y., Garasky, S., Greder, K., Cook, C.C., Browder, D. (under review). “The Intersection of Food Security, Housing, and Health: Cases of Latino Immigrant Families in Rural America”.

 

 

Information shared during the webinar was based on data from the Rural Families Speak multi-state experiment station research project. This research was supported in part by USDA/CSREES/ NRICGP Grant 2001-35401-10215, 2002-35401-11591 and 2004-35401-14938. http://cehd.umn.edu/fsos/Centers/RuralFamiliesSpeak/default.asp