Staff

Lori K. Mannel


County Extension Director
lmannel@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

Agriculture and Natural Resources, Community Economic Development

Kayla Willms


County Youth and 4-H Coordinator
khyett@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

Youth and 4-H

Cindy Adamson


Office Assistant
cindya@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

Rich Wrage


Regional Extension Education Director
rwrage@iastate.edu
(641) 752-1551

Samantha Hardaway


Summer Assistant
samhsa@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

Summer Assistant

Ann Parker


Human Sciences Specialist, Nutrition and Wellness
aeheuer@iastate.edu
515-204-3397

Earl McAlexander


Youth Program Specialist
earlmc@iastate.edu
(712) 792-2364

Youth Science and Technology Curriculums, Animal Science Activities/Materials, Life Skills Development, Youth Record Keeing and Recognition Models, Experiential Learning Process

Tim Christensen


Extension Farm Management Specialist
tsc@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

Pasture economics, crops and livestock insurance, livestock economics, crop/livestock econ related to manure, run-off, etc., livestock marketing, farmland and building leasing, CSR2 (corn suitability rating)

Kalyn Cody


Family Finance Specialist
kcody@iastate.edu
515-957-5795

Mackenzie DeJong


Human Sciences Specialist, Family Life
mldejong@iastate.edu
712-662-7131

Provides leadership, delivery and support for porgrams such as Strengthenign Families, Powerful Tools for Caregivers, and training programs for child care providers and new child care center directors. 

Russ Euken


Extension Swine Specialist
reuken@iastate.edu
641-231-1711

Animal behavior, animal welfare assessment and auditing, housing and ventilation, group housing, standard operating procedure creation, employee training and documnetation, pork quality assurance - PQA producer education, pork quality assurance - PQA site assessments, TQA (trucker quality assurance), ISO14001 Environmental Management Systems, OSHA18001 Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems

Abbie Gaffey


Community Development Specialist
agaffey@iastate.edu
712-539-1169

Primary Extension and Outreach programming areas:

  • Community engagement
  • Housing needs assessments
  • Tourism customer service/hospitality training
  • Community leadership training
  • Strategic planning and facilitation services

Call me if you need…

To address a complicated community problem that requires engaging with multiple stakeholders, creating an organization, establishing or updating a strategic plan, or taking advantage of a unique economic development opportunity.

Joe Hannan


Commercial Horticulture Field Specialist
jmhannan@iastate.edu
515-993-4281

Organic crop production, vegetable crop production, fruit tree management, small fruit crop management, local foods

Alan D. Jensen


Community Developement and State Geospatial Technology Program Coordinator
adjensen@iastate.edu
(515) 290-2075,

Geographic information systems, conservation, small town and rural planning

Erika Lundy


Extension Beef Specialist
ellundy@iastate.edu
641-745-5902

Beef
Livestock

Jennie Savits


Enology Field Specialist
jsavits@iastate.edu
515-231-5399

Jennie Savits rejoined the institute in February 2017 as a Field Specialist in Enology.  She started at the institute as a wine lab assistant in the fall of 2007.  After graduating with a degree in Food Science in spring 2009, she completed an internship at Bedell Winery in New York where she participated in all aspects of winemaking.  She then worked as Research Associate for the institute, assisting with research projects, education and outreach, and performed chemical analysis of samples in the lab and oversaw student lab assistants. Jennie received her Masters degree with a thesis research project focusing on the varietal characteristics of La Cresent wine in Food Science in 2014.  In her new position, she will be assisting winemakers in the region to improve overall wine quality through best winemaking practices.

Shawn Shouse


Agricultural Engineering Program Specialist
sshouse@iastate.edu
OFFICE 712-769-2650 / CELL 712-250-0135

Ventilation, manure management, DNR regulations, manure storage designs and handling systems, building layout and siting, feedlot runoff design, energy conservation and heating, grain drying systems and well water quality

Derek L. Thompson


CIRAS
thompson@iastate.edu
515-419-2163

Account Manager

Alan Vandehaar


Community Development Specialist
alanv@iastate.edu
515-231-6513

Community Planning

Michael Witt


Field Agronomist
witt@iastate.edu
641-430-2600

Educational programs for agronomic resource management with emphasis in: conservation and land use; manure nutrient management; soil and water quality; soil fertility; soil survey use; and crop production.

Share |