Extension Council

Extension Council 2023

The Extension Council is the 9 member governing body for the Cooperative Extension system.  As part of Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, the Fayette Extension Council works in partnership with local citizens, Iowa State University and the U.S. Department of Agriculture to carry out the land-grant mission beyond the Iowa State University campus in Ames. Every county in Iowa has an Extension Council. 

Fayette County Extension Council members are elected at-large by the voters of Fayette County to serve four-year terms.  They oversee the planning, preparation, marketing, and delivery of Extension educational programming in the county which includes establishing a budget, levying a tax, authorizing payment of expenses, and employing the ISU Extension Fayette County staff.  Extension Councils provide, through a unique partnership with Iowa State University and other federal and state organizations, research-based, unbiased information and education to help citizens make better decisions.

Fayette County Extension council meetings are held the third Tuesday of each month at 7 pm and are open to the public.  Meetings are held in the conference room at ISU Extension and Outreach, 218 South Main Street, Fayette IA 52142

Meeting dates are subject to change.

COUNCIL MEETINGS are scheduled for 7 pm

2024 Council Meetings: 1/16, 2/20, 3/19, 4/16, 6/18, 8/20, 9/17, 10/15, 11/19


Extension Council Resources

What is the role of a County Extension Council Member?

  • They represent their county – they bring an understanding of local issues to important decisions about educational opportunities.
  • They bring significant programs to their county and region that help people solve critical issues affecting their lives.
  • They represent Iowa State University Extension and Outreach and act on our behalf locally.
  • They have the responsibility to be a good steward of taxpayer dollars.
  • They provide mentoring and leadership for county paid staff.
  • They agree to fulfill the responsibilities of the position, including regularly attending council meeting.

How do you become a Council Member?

As a qualified voter in the Fayette County Extension district, you are eligible to be a candidate for county extension council.

To qualify as a candidate, you will need to obtain 25 signatures on a nominating petition, from the Fayette county auditor’s office. We would urge you to obtain a few additional signatures, but 30 or 35 will be sufficient. When the petition has been completed, you will need to return it to the county auditor’s office and sign an affidavit at that time. The petition must be filed at the auditor’s office.


More Information

If you would like to increase your leadership and networking opportunities through new relationships that benefit your county and help position ISU Extension and Outreach to move our state forward, consider being an Extension Council member.

To learn more about the Fayette County Extension Council and how you can be part of it, please contact Bridget Shultz, Regional Extension Education Director, 515-294-6192, bshultz1@iastate.edu


Council Members

(Number) is the year the term expires

  • Scot Michelson
    Fayette, IA
  • Alan Albrecht
    Vice Chair
    Maynard, IA
  • Dawn Jacobsen
    Clermont, IA
  • Dennis Lueder
    West Union, IA
  • Amy Boehm
    Elgin, IA
  • Neil Lansing
    West Union, IA
  • Kathy McClain
    Maynard, IA
  • Michael McFadden
    Randalia, IA
  • Peggy Sparrgrove
    Castalia, IA