Emerald Ash Borer Confirmed in Dubuque

DUBUQUE – The emerald ash borer (EAB), a highly destructive insect of ash trees has been confirmed in Dubuque, Iowa. Twenty-eight of Iowa’s counties have now been confirmed positive. Since its initial discovery in Michigan in 2002, this exotic pest has spread to 25 states killing tens of millions of trees.
 
In addition to the southern Dubuque detection, a tree in a rural area just outside south Dubuque city limits was also detected. Both sites were declared positive by the collection of EAB larvae.
 
In response to this discovery, City Forester, Steve Pregler, will be offering a workshop on Emerald Ash Borer Wednesday, September 9th at the Mines of Spain, EB Lyons Center starting at 6:30pm.
 
Laura Klavitter says, “My goal as Horticulture Educator with Dubuque County ISU Extension and Outreach is to provide resources and direct our City to current, research-based information that will help our community members make the best decisions for their trees and landscapes that may be at risk for Emerald Ash Borer.” Klavitter will be communicating and working closely with City Forester, Steve Pregler, for more updates and details about Emerald Ash Borer in Dubuque. 
Updates and resources can also be located by visiting the City of Dubuque website: http://www.cityofdubuque.org/1950/Emerald-Ash-Borer.
 
“Iowa now has seven counties bordering the Mississippi River that have turned up positive for EAB,” said Mike Kintner, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship EAB and gypsy moth coordinator. “Unfortunate as it is, I wouldn’t be surprised to see the remaining three counties declared positive within a year.”
 
At this calendar date, the window for all preventive treatments has closed. If a landowner is interested in protecting a valuable and healthy ash tree within 15 miles of a known infestation, he or she should have landscape and tree service companies bid on work, review the bids this fall/winter, and treat beginning spring 2016 (early April to mid-May).
 
Since larvae of EAB can unknowingly be transported under the bark of a tree, the Iowa EAB Team strongly cautions Iowans not to transport firewood across county or state lines. The movement of firewood throughout Iowa or to other states poses the greatest threat to quickly spread EAB and other plant pests. A statewide quarantine remains in place, restricting the movement of hardwood firewood, ash logs, wood chips and ash tree nursery stock out of Iowa into non-quarantined areas of other states.
 
For more information please visit the following links: 
Common Problems of Ash Tree
EAB or Native Borer?
Does My Ash Tree Have Emerald Ash Borer? 
Emerald Ash Borer FAQ
City of Dubuque EAB Website
 
To learn more about EAB and other pests that are threatening Iowa’s tree population, please visit www.IowaTreePests.com. Please contact any of the following members of the Iowa EAB Team for further information:
 Mike Kintner, IDALS EAB coordinator, 515-745-2877, Mike.Kintner@IowaAgriculture.gov
Robin Pruisner, IDALS state entomologist, 515-725-1470, Robin.Pruisner@IowaAgriculture.gov
Paul Tauke, DNR state forester, 515-725-8450, Paul.Tauke@dnr.iowa.gov
Tivon Feeley, DNR forest health coordinator, 515-725-8453, Tivon.feeley@dnr.iowa.gov
Emma Hanigan, DNR urban forestry coordinator, 515-725-8454, Emma.Hanigan@dnr.iowa.gov
Jesse Randall, ISU Extension and Outreach forester, 515-294-1168, Randallj@iastate.edu
Mark Shour, ISU Extension and Outreach entomologist, 515-294-5963, mshour@iastate.edu
Laura Jesse, ISU Extension and Outreach entomologist, ISU Plant and Insect Diagnostic Clinic, 515-294-0581, ljesse@iastate.edu
Donald Lewis, ISU Extension and Outreach entomologist, 515-294-1101, drlewis@iastate.edu.
Jeff Iles, ISU Extension and Outreach horticulturist, 515-294-3718, iles@iastate.edu

Share |