Shirbrouns Inducted into Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame

Joe & Suzanne Shirbroun of Farmersburg were inducted into the 2023 Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame during a ceremony at the 4-H Exhibits Building at the Iowa State Fair on Sunday, August 20. Ninety-one Iowa counties participated this year and selected 127 inductees for their outstanding service and dedication to 4-H. Inductees or their surviving family members were presented a certificate by the Iowa 4‑H Foundation President, David Bolte, and Interim State 4-H Program Leader, Mitchell Hoyer, as they were introduced on stage.

4-H has been an important part of Suzanne’s family for four generations. Growing up she was a member of the Cheery Chums 4-H Club. She is a former club leader of the St. Olaf Jr. Farmers 4-H Club.  Although Joe wasn’t a 4-H member growing up, he soon learned all about 4-H when his children joined 4-H. They have three sons, who were all involved in 4-H.

Joe and Suzanne started the Crop Scouting team in Clayton County and coached various teams to state and regional contest championships. Both Joe and Suzanne have served on the Clayton County 4-H & Youth Development Committee and are currently on the Clayton County 4-H Foundation Board. The Shirbrouns are members of the Norway Lutheran Church, where they have served on church council and various committees.

The Shirbroun family has a soybean and corn farming operation near Farmersburg, Iowa. They also have a Pioneer seed dealership. They are active in the Iowa Corn Growers Association and Iowa Soybean Association. Suzanne serves as President-elect of the Iowa Soybean Association (ISA) Board of Directors. Both Joe and Suzanne have degrees in agronomy from Iowa State University.

Joe & Suzanne Shirbroun know the future of agriculture relies on the education of our young people and what better way to gain that knowledge than through 4-H and Youth programs. 

Counties select inductees for their exceptional work in contributing to the lives of 4-H members and the overall 4-H program. Many inductees serve as club leaders, youth mentors, fair superintendents or fair board members, Iowa State University Extension and Outreach County council members, county youth council members, fair judges, financial supporters, chaperones or ISU Extension and Outreach staff members. The inductees have demonstrated dedication, encouragement, commitment and guidance to Iowa’s 4-H’ers through the years.

“We are honored to recognize these special individuals, for their advocacy and dedication to the Iowa 4-H program,” shared Iowa 4-H Foundation Executive Director, Emily Saveraid.

“This is a great way to honor the volunteers and staff across the state of Iowa that generously give their time and talents to foster positive partnerships with our 4-H youth,” said Tillie Good, Iowa 4-H staff and volunteer development manager.

The Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame was initiated in 2002 to help commemorate the 100th anniversary of 4-H. A summary of previous honorees was on display at the 2022 Iowa State Fair in the 4-H Exhibits Building.  These summaries are also available at the Iowa 4-H Foundation office in the Extension 4-H Youth Building at Iowa State University. Information about previous inductees to the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame also is available on the Iowa 4-H Foundation website, organized by year and by county. Go to and under the heading “What We Do” select “Recognizing Service” then “Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame.”