Clayton County 4-H Honors Youth & Adults

The annual Clayton County 4-H awards program honors both 4-H club members and adult volunteers.
Club Community Service Awards were presented to the Lodomillo Leaders, Mallory Minks, Woodcenter Eagles and Monona Jr. Feeders 4-H Clubs. These clubs were selected for their not only for their monetary donations, but also for their volunteer service.
The Lodomillo Leaders 4-H Club won the award for best 4-H Week Promotion during the month of October. Evelyn Fritz of the Peppy Pals/Mendon Hustlers and Emma Zamora of the Worthwhile 4-H Club won the individual 4-H Week Contests.
The Meritorious Service Award was presented to Elkader Veterinary Clinic.  Carol Johnson of Elgin was honored as the 4-H Alumni member and Arlen Nuehring of Monona was named this year’s Honorary 4-H Member.
This year the Awards of the Clover were presented to dedicated 4-H volunteers who have served 5, 15 and 20 years.  Recognized for 5 years were Michael Sperfslage, Edgewood: Jill Herman, Elkport; Kathy Kugel, Luana: Kendra Franzen, Luana & Morgan Taake, Postville.  Candace Drahn, Farmersburg & Carol Johnson, Elgin were honored for 15 years of service and Lori Vlazny, Farmersburg was honored for 20 years of service.
Club Officer awards were presented to Mackenzy Ruff of Peppy Pals/Mendon Hustlers; Ellie Bockenstedt, Woodcenter Eagles: Sarah Fenton, Woodberry Clovers and Ava Kerns, Woodcenter Eagles.
29 4-H members received record keeping awards. The Collin Harbaugh Memorial honors the top junior records. The award given Brian & Koral Harbaugh in memory of their son Collin provides youth with the opportunity to attend either the area junior or intermediate camp next summer. Top junior & intermediate record keeping honors went to Bella Battin, Lodomillo Leaders; Karter Knipper, Woodberry Clovers; and Brady Thein, Mallory Minks; and Carter Hillers, Mallory Minks.
Ava Kerns, of the Woodcenter Eagles received a project award in Clothing Fashion revue. Pierce Harbaugh of the Marion Happy Hustlers received the Danforth I Dare You Leadership Award.
Four special awards were given to Intermediate & Senior 4-H’ers who scored well on their award applications; Brooke Hansel, Colesburg; Dakota Hamann, Strawberry Point; Jenna Funk, Elkport and Mackenzy Ruff, Farmersburg each received a $50 voucher to the 2021 State 4-H Conference.  
For more information on 4-H & Youth programs contact the Clayton County Extension Office at 563-245-1451.

Share |