4-H Council Attends Leadership Retreat

County Council retreat

     ­­­­­­­­Clayton County 4-H Council members attended the Region 4-H County Council Leadership Retreat held in West Union on August 25.  Forty-nine county council members from Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette, Howard and Winneshiek counties participated in team building activities while exploring the qualities of a strong leader.  The annual leadership retreat provides youth a chance to network and learn from neighboring councils as well as enhance their interpersonal skills, shared Kendra Crooks, State 4-H Youth Development Specialist.  In addition, each county council began program planning and are looking forward to new and exciting opportunities for the upcoming new 4-H year including recruitment of new members.  Anyone with suggestions for the new year are invited to share ideas with a local county council member or contact the Clayton County Extension Office.
      4-H County Council members are valuable teen leaders within the county 4-H program. These 4-H’ers are empowered to be the youth voice of their respective county 4-H programs helping plan and carryout countywide 4-H activities throughout the year.
Members of the Clayton County 4-H Council attending the training were: Myah Davis, Luana; Mackenzy Ruff, Garnavillo; Pierce Harbaugh, Postville; Emma Pape, Edgewood; Marlene Franzen, Luana, Maria Medberry , Volga; Hunter Thompson, Elkader; Levi Tuecke, Garnavillo; and Mia Gibson, Elgin.

Share |