Clay County 4-H seeks nominations for Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame

Clay County 4-H is seeking nominations for the 2021 Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame Inductee. The Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame honors 4-H volunteers, supporters and pioneers who have made a significant contribution to the Iowa 4-H Youth Development Program. 

Nominees can include individuals who practice community citizenship, exemplary leadership in their profession or community, and character qualities exemplified by evidence of the role of the 4-H program in their life and their continuing commitment to 4-H and youth development. Individuals may also be former 4-H members who have achieved notable accomplishments or successes in their chosen career or life goals and who continue to use those successes to be a mentor or role model.  

“In Clay County, we truly benefit from the time and talents of over 400 volunteers every year who guide 4-H members in becoming productive and caring citizens, effective leaders and successful learners, “ said Isabel Dehrkoop, county youth program coordinator with Iowa State University Extension and Outreach in Clay County.

Former Clay County inductees into the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame include: Janel Maurer, Greg Lear, Charlie Elser, Bill Biedenfeld, Roger Clarke, Hardie “Butch” Ball Jr., Kay and Roger Zieman, Bonnie Johnson, Mike Schoning, Tom Manley, Jim and Joyce Spieker, Bob and Colleen Speed, Dave Hessman, Ann Lohman, Donald C. Steffen, Linda Swanson, Randall and Kathy Anderson, Marilyn White and Don Schoelerman.  

Nominations must be received by May 3, 2021 in the form of a letter to the Clay County Extension Office, 110 West 4th Street, Suite 100, Spencer, or emailed to There is no required formal application.

For more information please contact Isabel Dehrkoop or Michele Hogrefe at 712-262-2264 or via email at or 

Share |