2013 Leroy and Barbara Everson Seed and Biosafety Symposium

Select a session from the right column to view the recording


Recordings from other years:

Wednesday, April 24, 2013


  • Welcome and introduction to Session

Marcel Bruins - Keynote

  • Marcel Bruins, Secretary General, International Seed Federation
    Seed Science and the Seed Industry in the 21st Century

Jonathan Wickert

  • Senior Vice President and Provost, Iowa State University

Miller McDonald

  • Professor Emeritus, Department of Horticulture and Crop Science, The Ohio State University
    Public SectorSeed Science: Past,Present, and Future

Diego Risso

  • Secretary General, Seed Association of Americas
    Facilitating Seed Trade in the Americas: A Science Based Strategy

Moses Siambi

  • Senior Scientist and Malawi Representative, International Crops Research Institute for the SemiArid Tropics (ICRISAT)
    Seed of Orphan Crops for Food Security

Panel Discussion

  • Marcel Bruins, Miller McDonald, Diego Risso, Moses Siambi
    Policy for Seeding The Future


  • Introduction to Afternoon Session

Margaret Karembu - Keynote

  • Director, International Service for the Acquisition of Agribiotech Applications (ISAAA) Africenter
    Global Status of Commercialized Biotech/GM Crops

Kenneth Ostlie

  • Professor and Extension Entomologist, University of Minnesota
    Emergence and Implications of Resistant Corn Rootworm

Iain Kelly

  • Bayer CropScience
    Seed Treatment and Pollinators

Dave Stimpson

  • Seeds Regulatory Specialist, Dow AgroSciences
    Refuge in a Bag

Michael Owen

  • Extension Weed Specialist & Professor of Agronomy, Iowa State University
    Herbicide Resistant Crops: Old Chemistry and New Traits

Alan Taylor

  • Professor Seed Science and Technology, Cornell University
    New and Emerging Seed Treatments

Panel Discussion

  • Margaret Karembu, Kenneth Ostlie, Iain Kelly, Dave Stimpson, Michael Owen, Alan Taylor
    Science for Seeding the Future


  • Closing Remarks