Start to Farm new farmer learning network

About Start to Farmimage of farmers learning

Start to Farm new farmer learning networks groups are for beginning and early-career farmers who are looking for an edge in managing and growing their farm business. Groups meet several times each year to address ways to improve business practices and production techniques, tour successful farm operations, and to form a community to share new ideas and profitable farming methods.

Groups are organized by location or by production focus, such as livestock or horticultural crops.


How to Join

You are welcome to join any group! Some groups meet face to face, others, like the Dairy Edition, meet largely electronically. Registration for Start to Farm groups is requested, but there is no participation fee. Contact individuals for each group are listed below. They can direct you to additional information about upcoming group meetings and to the group facilitators, also listed below. 

Facebook logo


Group Locations

 

Start to Farm Map


Contact Information

 

 

Area Covered

 Group

 Group Enterprise(s) Focus 

Contact

Email Phone

1

Lyon, Sioux, O'Brien, Plymouth, Cherokee  and some from Woodbury

Start to Farm: Northwest Iowa

 Diverse Enterprises

Janelle Johnson

janelle@iastate.edu

712.546.7835

2 North Central Iowa Start to Farm: Northcentral Iowa Diverse Enterprises Russ Euken reuken@iastate.edu 641.231.1711
3  Fort Dodge area Start to Farm: High Tunnels -West Central  High Tunnels - West Central Jerry Chizek  jwchizek@iastate.edu

515.576.2119 

4 Tama, Benton, Buchanan, Blackhawk Start to Farm: Tama/Benton Beef Beef Denise Schwab dschwab@iastate.edu 319.721.9624
5 Crawford County Start to Farm: Crawford County Diverse Enterprises Shane Ellis shanee@iastate.edu 515.520.0601
6 Carroll, Green, Guthrie and Audubon Counties Start to Farm Diverse Enterprises Shane Ellis shanee@iastate.edu 515.520.0601
7 West Des Moines Area Start to Farm Beef Joe Sellers sellers@iastate.edu 641.203.1270
8

Ames - Marshalltown - Cedar Rapids - Quad cities - Ottumwa - Des Moines

Start to Farm: High Tunnels  High Tunnels Joe Hannan jmhannan@iastate.edu

515.993.4281

9

Johnson, Linn, Washington

Start to Farm: Commercial Horticulture

 Commercial  Horticulture

Patrick O'Malley omall@iastate.edu

319.330.0337

10 Clinton, Jackson, Jones - open to surrounding counties Start to Farm: Eastern IA Women Beef Producers Beef Denise Schwab dschwab@iastate.edu 319.721.9624

11

Montgomery County Southwest Iowa

Start to Farm: Montgomery County

Beef

Angela Silva

angsilva@iastate.edu

712.523.2137

12 Lenox Start to Farm Taylor County Beef Jenny Ernst jernst@iastate.edu 712.523.2137
13 40 mile radius of Mt. Ayr Start to Farm: Ringgold County Beef Dawn Dugan dawnd@iastate.edu 641.464.3333
14 Knoxville and 50 mile radius Start to Farm: Marion County Beef Patrick Wall patwall@iastate.edu 515.540.7665
15 Wapello and 8 surrounding counties Start to Farm: Wapello County Area Diverse Enterprises Charles Brown crbrown@iastate.edu 515.240.9214

16

Washington and surrounding counties

Start to Farm: Washington County area  

Tom Miller

tmiller@iastate.edu

319.931.3781

  Statewide Start to Farm: Northwest Iowa Diverse Enterprises Janelle Johnson janelle@iastate.edu 712.546.7835
  Statewide Start to Farm: Dairy Edition Dairy Jenn Bentley jbentley@iastateledu 563.382.2949