Staff

Abby VanAernam


Office Manager
abbyvan@iastate.edu
712-563-4239
Ann Carter photo

Ann Carter


Program Coordinator
acarter@iastate.edu
712-563-4239

Terry Torneten


Regional Extension Education Director
ttorn@iastate.edu
712-792-2364

Earl McAlexander


Regional Youth Specialist
earlmc@iastate.edu
712-792-2364

Tim Christensen


Farm Management Specialist
tsc@iastate.edu
515-493-8232
Photo of Dave Stender, Swine Specialist

Dave Stender


Swine Specialist
dstender@iastate.edu
712-261-0225

animal welfare assessment or auditing, niche markets, housing and ventilation, local foods, manure management and utilization, meat products and processing, pork quality, production management software, record systems, swine reproduction, risk management education, pork quality assurance - PQA+ producer education, pork quality assurance - PQA+ site assessments, TQA (trucker quality assurance), MAC program (manure applicator certification), county fair derby programs, state fair derby programs

Erika Lundy


Beef Specialist
ellundy@iastate.edu
641-745-5902
Ann Parker photo

Ann Parker


Human Sciences Specialist, Nutrition and Wellness
aeparker@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

Carol Ehlers


Human Sciences Specialist, Family Finance
xehlers@iastate.edu
712-732-5056

Financial Management for individuals and families including spending plans, budgeting for your needs, consumer decision-making, dealing with credit and debt, and planning for your future - savings, insurance, and retirement.

David Brown


Behavioral Health State Extension Specialist
dnbrown@iastate.edu
515-298-1505

Adolescence, Couple and Marital Relationships, Social and Emotional Wellness, Family Communication, Grief and Loss, Military Families, Parenting, Stress Management/Resiliency, Suicide Prevention/Intervention, Mental Health.

Mackenzie DeJong


Human Sciences Specialist, Family Life
mldejong@iastate.edu
712-541-8737

Abbie Gaffey


Community Specialist
agaffey@iastate.edu
712-539-1169

Leadership development and organization development

Fred Hall Photo

Fred Hall


Dairy Specialist
fredhall@iastate.edu
712-737-4230

employee management and training, purebred marketing, forage production and resources, 4-H, dairy youth, judging, dairy consumer education, local foods, small/beginning farmer

Joe Hannan photo

Joe Hannan


Horticulture Specialist
jmhannan@iastate.edu
515-993-4281

organic crop production, vegetable crop production, fruit tree management, small fruit crop management, local foods

Julie Hlas


Advancement Specialist
hlas@iastate.edu
712.389.0129
Photo of Shawn Shouse, Agricultural Engineering Specialist

Shawn Shouse


Agricultural Engineering Specialist
sshouse@iastate.edu
712-769-2650

composting, home energy, home indoor air quality, manure handling, open feedlot design, private water supply, water quality, ag building ventilation, ag odor/air quality, ag safety, ag/building structure, bio-economy, bio-fuels/bioprocessing, biomass harvesting, storage, and handling, CRP, energy conservation, forage harvest/storage, grain handling, drying, and quality, grazing systems, home maintenance, livestock housing systems (poultry and swine), machinery, manure management plans, biosolids management/sewage, onsite sewage disposal, soil compaction, tile drainage, tillage

Mike Witt


Field Agronomist
witt@iastate.edu
641-430-2600
Share |