Articles related to Environment

Friday, July 15, 2016 - 08:55

Research at Iowa State University is intended to provide information to help agriculture producers make decisions about establishing monarch habitat and encourage them to join the effort to re-establish milkweed and forbs that support monarchs during migrations across the state. 

Wednesday, July 13, 2016 - 08:10

Pasture walks at the Iowa State University beef teaching farm and sheep teaching farm scheduled for July offer a great opportunity to learn about the farms' animals, facilities and research.

Tuesday, July 12, 2016 - 08:39

Iowa Learning Farms and farmer partner Mark Thompson will host a strip-tillage and cover crop field day Thursday, July 28. The 10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. field day is near Badger.

Friday, July 8, 2016 - 14:38

Iowa State University Extension and Outreach specialists will be featured speakers at a central Iowa field day focused on strip-till technologies on Wednesday, July 13, at the Iowa State University Research Farm south of Ames.

Thursday, July 7, 2016 - 15:36

Three ISU Extension and Outreach specialists will participate in the 10th annual Iowa Women in Agriculture Conference later this month, helping educate women from across the state on conservation and water quality practices.

Thursday, July 7, 2016 - 11:12

The ISU Extension and Outreach Women in Agriculture program will introduce a special recognition during Farm Progress Show to showcase the lives of eight outstanding Iowa women.

Tuesday, July 5, 2016 - 10:26

Building a Culture of Conservation is the theme for the Iowa Learning Farms’ monthly webinar on Wednesday, July 20 at 1 p.m.

Friday, July 1, 2016 - 08:54

Emerald ash borer has been positively identified in Brighton and Birmingham, bringing the total number of confirmed counties to 34 since it was first detected in Iowa back in 2010.

Tuesday, June 28, 2016 - 09:07

A back to the basics cover crop field day is scheduled for Thursday, July 14, 5:30–7:30 p.m. at the Tama Civic Center in Tama. ISU Extension and Outreach specialists will discuss opportunities to add a cover crop following seed corn.