New President, Trustees for Iowa 4-H Foundation

News from the Iowa 4-H Foundation

AMES, Iowa — Mitch Baum was elected president of the Iowa 4-H Foundation Board of Trustees at their annual meeting Oct. 11 at the Meredith Corporation headquarters in Des Moines. In addition, seven Iowans were elected to the board.

Baum is the business development manager of Summit Farms LLC. He was a 9-year member of the Geneseo Jr. Leaders 4-H club in Henry County, Ill. Baum feels that the 4-H experience continues for a lifetime: in young people it encourages skill development that can never be taken away, and in professionals it encourages youth education and community service.

“We are honored and pleased to welcome Mitch Baum as our new president to our board, which welcomed seven professional trustees. We have confidence in Mitch to steer and lead our strategic plans and exciting new capital campaign projects to help propel Iowa 4-H. His dedication, vision, connection to people, creativity and expertise offer us a young perspective and innovative leadership we need to continue to evolve and deepen this organization in Iowa,” said Kris Fish Kuhlmann, executive director of the Iowa 4-H Foundation.

7 New Trustees Elected to Board

Michael Tupper is a senior at New Hampton Community Schools, where he is senior class president, and the Northeast District FFA vice president. Tupper is a member of the 4-H State Council, president of the Chickasaw County 4-H Council and a member of the Ionia Rustlers 4-H Club. He plans to attend Iowa State University in 2014 to study agricultural engineering and pursue a career in agriculture.

Doug Den Adel is the executive vice president of Jacobson Companies in Des Moines. He and his wife, Heather, currently reside in Madrid with their two children who are both members of the Madrid Merry Makers 4-H Club in Boone County.

Kirk and Amy Enwright are entrepreneurs and owners of Goldfinch Development LLC, a commercial LED lighting business that promotes energy efficiency and sustainability. They also are launching the North American Classic Tractor Association to promote and grow the hobby of collecting classic tractors.

Holly Grandin, State Center, is an ag finance specialist at New Century FS in Grinnell. Grandin has a degree in animal science from Iowa State University. She was a 4-H’er in Black Hawk County, a club leader in Cass County, Ill., and a parent leader in Knox County, Ill.

Andy Determan is the business manager at the Scoular Company in Overland Park, Kan. He served as an Iowa 4-H Foundation Youth Trustee from 2001-2003.

Eric Johnson, CPCU, AU, is vice president of Nationwide Agribusiness Sales and Marketing. He earned his bachelor’s degree from Buena Vista University in Storm Lake, Iowa.

The Iowa 4-H Foundation Board of Trustees is comprised of volunteers in various industries: Iowa State University Extension and Outreach staff, private business and government professionals, farmers, community leaders, State 4-H Council representatives and others.