2011 State 4-H Dairy Quiz Bowl Winners Announced

ARLINGTON, Iowa – The Fayette County Senior Dairy Quiz Bowl Team placed first in the annual 4-H Youth Dairy Quiz Bowl, held June 14 at the Starmont High School in Arlington. The team will represent Iowa 4-H at the National 4-H Dairy Quiz Bowl in Louisville, Ky., in November.

The event provides some experience for the up and coming youth to demonstrate their knowledge about the dairy industry, said Mike Anderson, 4-H agriculture program coordinator with Iowa State University Extension.

The winning team, Dairy Stellar Sizzling Spritzers, included Gina Fisher, Jake Mills, Molly Schmitt and Kelli Steinlage. Diana Stewart and Joey Adams were the coaches for Fayette County.

The second place senior team was Dubuque County’s Under the Influence of Dairy. Team members included Megan Rauen, Emily Neumueller, Josh Simon, Emily Simon, Elizabeth Brehm and Austin Knapp. Shirley Simon was the coach for Dubuque County.

Each year, the Fayette County 4-H Dairy Club presents a traveling trophy to each division winner in honor and memory of Connie Stewart and her daughter Sarah Stewart.

The winning intermediate division team was from Delaware County. Team members included Katelyn Goldsmith, Mindy Burkle, Nick Bagge and Matthew Lansing. Jennifer Zumbach was the Delaware County coach.

The second place intermediate team was from Fayette County. Powerhouse Cows team members included Mary Scott, Katie Stewart, Ashley Baumler, Sally Hamlett and Nathan Arthur.

Taking top honors in the junior division was the Delaware County team. Members included Tehya Maree Demmer, Amanda Engelken, Haley Fitzpatrick, Matt Hense and Cole Kruse.

The second place team in the junior division was from Dubuque County. The team members were Rachael Brehm, Lexie Ehrlich, Julie Hammerand and Amanda Dougherty.

The scores of a written exam, team questions and toss-up competition combined to determine the winners of each match in this double elimination event. The Iowa 4-H Foundation Dairy Endowment provided various awards for the event and will provide funding for the senior team’s trip to Louisville.

Fifty-six youth participated in the quiz bowl: 12 seniors, 22 intermediates and 22 juniors.

Other Placings

  • Senior third place: Delaware County; Nicole Engelken and James Goldsmith
  • Intermediate third place: Delaware County; Cassie Burkle, Kari Fitzpatrick, Kaleb Kruse and Glen Comley
  • Junior third place: Fayette County, Kung Fu Cows; Braeden Baumler, Brylie Volker, Ben Scott, Vanessa Hamlett and Cynthia Hamlett

Senior Test Results

  1. Austin Knapp, Dubuque County 
  2. Jake Mills, Fayette County
  3. Kelli Steinlage, Fayette County
    James Goldsmith, Delaware County
    Elizabeth Brehm, Dubuque County

Intermediate Test Results

  1. Mary Scott, Fayette County
  2. Glen Comley, Delaware County
  3. Katie Stewart, Fayette County

Junior Test Results

  1. Amanda Engelken, Delaware County
    Amanda Dougherty, Dubuque County
  2. Cynthia Hamlett, Fayette County