April 23, 2008
Managing Your Email, Part Two--Attachments

Let's say you've already set up AutoArchive to archive your mail automatically every 6 months--that's all your email in all your online folders. Your Deleted Items folder is emptied regularly. And you've even set a couple of folders to AutoArchive more frequently.

You're feeling pretty good about your mailbox clutter control (and you should!)

Then one morning, you come to the office bright and early only to find that the mailbox you thought was under control is right back up to 1G and climbing.

What's going on?
One thing to consider is the number of attachments you're sending and receiving. Sometimes when you're working on a collaborative project, you may send a large attachment back and forth several times. Each time, you're sending and receiving a new copy of that attachment. For example, suppose you have a 10M attachment. You send it to 10 people who each send you revisions. Maybe you're trying to meet a deadline so over the course of three days you send the document out 10 times and receive back 50 revised copies. Remember that both the attachments you send and the ones you receive are stored on the server.

So, let's do the math:
Sent: 10M file, 10 times=100M
Received: 10M file, 50 times=600M

Over the course of two days, your mailbox size has increased 600M.

You might also be receiving presentations for a conference. if you get 10 Powerpoint presentations and they're each 50M apiece, that's 500M from those 10 emails alone.

What can you do about it?

  • You can delete those emails when the conference or the revision process is over.
  • You can set AutoArchive to archive more frequently than every 6 months.
  • You can also remove or save attachments so that only the original email message remains in your inbox.

To remove (delete) an attachment from an email message

  1. Right-click on the attachment
  2. Select Remove

To save an attachment from an email message

  1. Right-click on the attachment
  2. Select Save As...

Be sure you're emptying your Deleted Items folder or the deleted attachments and emails will still add to your total storage on the server.

Posted by dcoates at April 23, 2008 01:52 PM