Staff

Cheryl Heronemus


Region 1 Extension Education Director
hero@iastate.edu
712-957-5045 (O'Brien County); Cell Phone 712-240-2472; or 712-737-4230 (Sioux County)

Administration, Human Resource Development

Anita Jeltema


Office Assistant
ajelt@iastate.edu
(712) 737-4230

Honna Brown


4-H County Youth Coordinator
hlbrown@iastate.edu
(712) 737-4230

Youth Programming, 4th-12th grade emphasis

Danielle Zuidema


K-4 Youth Associate Educator
dzuidema@iastate.edu
712-737-4230

Jackie Jiskoot


Youth Program Assistant
jjiskoot@iastate.edu
712-737-4230

Youth program office assistant and program support

Kiley Kaufman


Regional Marketing Coordinator
kkaufman@iastate.edu
712-957-5045

Marketing and communications for Extension and Outreach in the northwest corner of Iowa.

Joel DeJong


Field Agronomist
jldejong@iastate.edu
(712) 546-7835

See Full Biography
Soil Fertility, Insect and Weed Management, Alternative Tillage Methods, Integrated Crop Management, Pesticide Use and Safety , Manure as a Crop Nutrient , Weather-related Crop Problems, Sustainable Crop Production, Precision Agriculture

Mackenzie DeJong


Human Sciences Program Coordinator
mldejong@iastate.edu
(712) 737-4230
Dr. Beth Doran

Beth Doran


Extension Beef Specialist
doranb@iastate.edu
712-737-4230

Dr. Doran Full Biography
Provides primary leadership for and conducts Extension education programming in the feedlot and cow-calf phases of agriculture. Secondary emphasis is directed toward sheep, dairy and horses.

Abbie Gaffey


Community Resource Development Field Specialist
agaffey@iastate.edu
(515) 294-6192
Lori Hayungs

Lori Hayungs


Human Sciences Specialist, Family Life
lhayungs@iastate.edu
712-360-1740

Youth development, food and nutrition, family life, parenting, family development

Kris Kohl

Dr. Kris Kohl


Extension Agricultural Engineer Specialist
kkohl1@iastate.edu
(712) 732-5056

Dr. Kris Kohl Complete Biography
Livestock facilities, building materials and construction ventilation systemsn, manure management systems, soil erosion and crop residue management, soil and water conservation, groudn water quality, well construction and maintenance, farm machinery, environmental regualations, energy conservation and farm safety

Jan Monahan

Jan Monahan


Human Sciences Specialist, Family Finance
jmonahan@iastate.edu
712-336-3488

Financial Management for individuals and families including spending plans, budgeting for your needs, consumer decision-making, dealing with credit and debt, and planning for your future - savings, insurance, and retirement.

Margaret Murphy, Horticulture Educator

Margaret Murphy


Horticulture Educator
mmurphy@iastate.edu
712-472-2576

Consumer Horticulture; Master Gardener training and coordination of programs; youth gardening programs

Ben Pullen


Youth Program Specialist
bpullen@iastate.edu
712-957-5045

Educates young people in life skills, learning how to learn, communication, citizenship, leadership and decision making

Dave Stender

David Stender


Extension Swine Specialist
dstender@iastate.edu
(712) 225-6196

See Full Biography
Management of swine operation, understanding and using records for management decisions, nutrition program analysis for cost and performance potential, genetic evaluation, value added marketing, understanding a packer sheet, evaluation of live animal and carcass, production flow planning, setting financial and production goals, business planning within the swine enterprise and developing and using computer software for monitoring and making decisions

Renee Sweers

Renee Sweers


Human Sciences Specialist, Nutrition and Wellness
rsweers@iastate.edu
(712) 276-2157

Nutrition throughout the life-cycle, Nutrition, Health and Prevention of chronic disease, Women, Infant and Children's health issues, Food Safety and Quality, Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) and Family Nutrition Program (FNP) in selected counties

Position Vacant


Dairy Specialist
712-737-4230

Gary Wright


Farm Management Specialist
gdwright@iastate.edu
712-276-2157
Julie Hlas

Julie Hlas


Advancement Specialist
hlas@iastate.edu
712.389.0129

Marketing and communications

Share |