Staff

Cheryl Heronemus


Region 1 Extension Education Director
hero@iastate.edu
712-957-5045 (O'Brien County); Cell Phone 712-240-2472; or 712-737-4230 (Sioux County)

Administration, Human Resource Development

Cindy Cleveringa

Cindy Cleveringa


4-H County Youth Coordinator
clever@iastate.edu
(712) 737-4230

Youth Programming, 4th-12th grade emphasis

Anita Jeltema

Anita Jeltema


Office Assistant
ajelt@iastate.edu
(712) 737-4230

Lynda Kroeze


4-H Program Assistant
kroeze@iastate.edu
712-737-4230

Youth programming, K-3 emphasis

Melissa O'Rourke

Melissa O'Rourke


Farm Management Specialist
morourke@iastate.edu
712 737-4230

See Full Biography

Agricultural law, employment legal issues, land and related leasing issues, estate and succession planning.

Annie’s Project for Farm Women

Dr. Beth Doran

Beth Doran


Extension Beef Specialist
doranb@iastate.edu
712-737-4230

Dr. Doran Full Biography

Provides primary leadership for and conducts Extension education programming in the feedlot and cow-calf phases of agriculture. Secondary emphasis is directed toward sheep, dairy and horses.

Lori Hayungs

Lori Hayungs


Family Life Field Specialist
lhayungs@iastate.edu
712 737-4230

Youth development, Food and Nutrition, Family life, parenting, family development

Mackenzie Johnson


Family Program Assistant
johnson7@iastate.edu
712-957-5045

Delivering and coordinating local programs for childcare providers, family caregivers and parents.

Kevin Lager

Kevin Lager


Dairy Specialist
klager@iastate.edu
712-737-4230

See Full Biography

Kaye Strohbehn

Kaye Strohbehn


Agriculture Producer and Consumer Education Specialist
kestroh@iastate.edu
712-737-4230

Kaye is responsible for providing educational programming in the application of knowledge, grounded in research-based science, to help Iowans and the agriculture industry prosper. More specifically, Kaye develops partnerships to be able to educate Iowans on social values related to livestock production, environmental, soil and water conservation issues as well as the importance of sharing the road. Additionally, she provides assistance to producers on how to effectively educate consumers, youth and neighbors on the story of agriculture and what society and neighbors expect of them resulting in a safe, wholesome and desired food product. Kaye’s primary counties include Sioux, O'Brien, Lyon, and Osceola in northwest Iowa.

Articles written by Kaye:

Telling Your Agricultural Story

Joel DeJong

Joel DeJong


Field Agronomist
jldejong@iastate.edu
(712) 546-7835

See Full Biography

Soil fertility, Insect and Weed Management, Alternative Tillage Methods,Integrated Crop Management, Pesticide Use and Safety, Manure as a Crop Nutrient, Weather-related Crop Problems, Sustainable Crop Production, Precision Agriculture

Kris Kohl

Dr. Kris Kohl


Extension Agricultural Engineer Specialist
kkohl1@iastate.edu
(712) 732-5056

Dr. Kris Kohl Complete Biography

Livestock facilities, building materials and construction ventilation systemsn, manure management systems, soil erosion and crop residue management, soil and water conservation, groudn water quality, well construction and maintenance, farm machinery, environmental regualations, energy conservation and farm safety

Margaret Murphy, Horticulture Educator

Margaret Murphy


Horticulture Educator
mmurphy@iastate.edu
712-472-2576

Consumer Horticulture; Master Gardener training and coordination of programs; youth gardening programs

Dave Stender

David Stender


Extension Swine Specialist
dstender@iastate.edu
(712) 225-6196

See Full Biography

Management of swine operation, understanding and using records for management decisions, nutrition program analysis for cost and performance potential, genetic evaluation, value added marketing, understanding a packer sheet, evaluation of live animal and carcass, production flow planning, setting financial and production goals, business planning within the swine enterprise and developing and using computer software for monitoring and making decisions

Renee Sweers


Nutrition & Health Program Specialist
rsweers@iastate.edu
(712) 276-2157

Nutrition throughout the life-cycle, Nutrition, Health and Prevention of chronic disease, Women, Infant and Children's health issues, Food Safety and Quality, Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) and Family Nutrition Program (FNP) in selected counties

Katie Knobbe

Katie Knobbe


Nutrition and Health Program Specialist
knobbe@iastate.edu
712-262-2264

Provides education in nutrition and food safety; registered dietician.

Robert Coacher


CIRAS
coacher@iastate.edu
(515) 419-2162

Manufacturing Account Manager

Abbie Gaffey


Community Resource Development Field Specialist
agaffey@iastate.edu
(515) 294-6192
Jan Monahan

Jan Monahan


Family Finance Specialist
jmonahan@iastate.edu
712-336-3488
Wade M. Weber

Wade M. Weber


Regional 4-H Youth Program Specialist
wadewebr@iastate.edu
712 737-4230

Educates young people in life skills, learning how to learn, communication, citizenship, leadership and decision making

Karina Fast

Karina Fast


Agriculture and Natural Resources Intern
kfast@iastate.edu
712-737-4230

Sioux, O'Brien, Lyon and Osceola Agriculture and Natural Resources Intern during the 2013-2014 academic school year.
Karina is from Bingham Lake, Minn., and currently a senior at Dordt College in Sioux Center majoring in agricultural business. Karina joins the ISU Extension and Outreach team with a wealth of personal and professional experiences. She has extensive knowledge of the agriculture industry.

Cindy Gannon

Cindy Gannon


Regional Marketing Coordinator
cgannon@iastate.edu
712-957-5045

Marketing, communications, publication design, public relations, advertising, communications training, community outreach.

Julie Hlas

Julie Hlas


Advancement Specialist
hlas@iastate.edu
712.389.0129

Marketing and communications

Share |