Newly Elected Poweshiek County Council Officers

The Poweshiek County Extension Council elected four officers during the organizational meeting January 21, 2014.  The nine-member council annually elects officers to comply with Iowa law.
Corey Latcham, of Grinnell, is the newly-elected chairperson.  Corey will preside at all meetings of the extension council, and will have authority to call special meetings and carry out duties performed and exercised by a chairperson of a board of directors of a corporation.  Dan Doty, of Montezuma, was elected vice chairperson. 
J.O. Parker, of Montezuma, was elected secretary; and has the responsibility of keeping the minutes of all extension council meetings and signing required papers for the council.
The council elected Ron Haworth, of Montezuma, to the treasurer position.  The treasurer receives, deposits, has charge of all of the funds of the extension council, and pays and disburses funds. The treasurer ensures an accurate record of receipts and disbursements and submits reports to the extension council. Elizabeth Roberts was elected assistant treasurer.
The council is the county governing body of Iowa State University Extension and Outreach. The council hires county staff, manages the county extension budget of approximately $314,000, and helps determine programming.
Other council members include:  Dane Lang, Lee McFee, Vicki Blomme, and Gina McKeag-Hall.
In partnership with Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, the council provides educational opportunities that bring university resources to the needs of the county and region. Local extension programs include 4-H, Clover Kids, Master Gardeners, Youth Outreach, Family Programming, and Farm and Livestock Management Seminars.
The county extension office is located at 114 S. Third St, Montezuma. To learn more about ISU Extension and Outreach in Poweshiek County, visit

Share |