Staff

Craig Hertel


Region 13 Extension Education Director
chertel@iastate.edu
(515) 993-4281

Group facilitation, strategic planning, financial and credit management, community and organization development.

Andrea Nelson


Executive Director
nelsonar@iastate.edu
(515) 957-5775

Administration, 4-H

Deb Baker


Customer Service and Communications Coordinator
dabaker@iastate.edu
(515) 957-5760

Barbara LeTourneau


Finance Manager
barbaral@iastate.edu
(515) 957-5776

Finance

Joy Niklasen


County Youth Coordinator
niklasen@iastate.edu
(515) 957-5771

4-H community clubs, 4-H Advisory Board, County Fair BBQ, County Awards Program, Area/State Opportunities, Clover Kids, 4-H Gala Partnership, and volunteer management.

Carla Vanderheiden

Carla Vanderheiden


Youth and Nutrition Internal Program Coordinator
carlav@iastate.edu
(515) 957-5763

4-H and EFNEP Programs

Marci Vinsand

Marci Vinsand


4-H County Youth Coordinator
vinsand@iastate.edu
(515) 957-5770

4-H Community Clubs, Polk County Fair Board, County Fair Website, Livestock Superintendents, Food Safety Quality Assurance (FSQA), Animal questions and County Council.

Mary Farlow


Horticulture Education and Master Gardener Coordinator
mfarlow@iastate.edu
(515) 957-5761
Amy Kort

Amy Kort


Marketing Assistant
akort@iastate.edu
(515) 957-5760

Katie Martin


Adventure Learning Center Associate Educator
ktmartin@iastate.edu
(515) 957-5778

Nicole Rottinghaus


Adventure Learning Center Coordinator
nrotting@iastate.edu
515-957-5767

Expertise in youth development and adventure education

Stacia Sanny


EFNEP Program Specialist
ssanny@iastate.edu
(515) 957-5786 or (515) 681-0070

Expanded Food Nutrition Education Program supervision and coordination.

Karen Grimes


EFNEP Program Assistant
grimesk@iastate.edu
(515) 957-5794

Adult food and nutrition education

Raquel Juarez


EFNEP Program Assistant
rjuarez@iastate.edu
(515) 957-5791

Adult food and nutrition education; English and Spanish speaking audiences

Maria Regalado


EFNEP Program Assistant
regalado@iastate.edu
(515) 957-5788

Adult food and nutrition education; provides programming in English and Spanish

Star Scott


EFNEP Program Assistant
star01@iastate.edu
(515) 957-5784

Adult food and nutrition

Steven Johnson


Farm Management Specialist
sdjohns@iastate.edu
(515) 957-5790

Grain Marketing, Crop Insurance, Farmland Leasing, Crop Economics and Risk Management, Decision Tools. Farm Programs, ACRE Program, SURE Program, Flexible Cash Farm Leases, Crop Marketing Newsletter, and e-Farm Management.

Mary Krisco

Mary Krisco


Nutrition and Health Field Specialist
mkrisco@iastate.edu
(515) 957-5787
Kapil Arora

Kapil Arora


Ag Engineer
pbtiger@iastate.edu
(515) 382-6551

Cheryl Clark


Family Life Program Specialist
cclark@iastate.edu
(515) 727-0656 or (641) 373-2196

Family Life: quality child care, parenting education, family decision making for later years, dealing with stress, change, and loss, building family strengths

Joe Hannan


Commercial Horticulture Program Specialist
jmhannan@iastate.edu
(515) 993-4281 office

Fruit and vegetable production and management

Mark Johnson

Mark Johnson


Field Agronomist
markjohn@iastate.edu
(515) 382-6551

Integrated Crop Management, corn and soybean management, soil fertility, alfalfa, tillage systems, Integrated Pest Management - weeds, insects and crop diseases, soil surveys.

Jeff Macomber


Regional Youth Program Specialist
jmacombe@iastate.edu
(515) 993-4281

Educational design, delivery and evaluation, prevention theory and practice, youth and family issues, human development, program management, volunteerism, communication, group facilitation and community involvement.

Natasha Neal


Organizational Advancement Specialist
natneal@iastate.edu
(515) 294-7033

Marketing and Public Relations

Joy Rouse


Families Program Specialist
jmrouse@iastate.edu
(515) 961-6237

Family programming including: child care and parenting education

Joe Sellers


Beef Field Specialist
sellers@iastate.edu
(641) 774-2016

Production background in beef, swine, and sheep operations; beef, sheep, and swine ration analysis; beef cattle crossbreeding and EPDs; facility design and troubleshooting; enterprise record and SPA analysis; livestock budgets, share arrangements

Terry Steinhart


Swine Field Specialist
tsteinha@iastate.edu
(641) 622-2680

Swine production systems, breeding, genetics, reproduction, nutrition, management, housing, manure and waste Management, herd health, marketing, and pork quality

Derek Thompson


Manufacturing Account Manager
thompson@iastate.edu
(515) 419-2163

Manufacturing

Margaret Van Ginkel


Family Finance Program Specialist and Hotline Director
vangin@iastate.edu
(515) 727-0656

Basic personal money management, Colors, financial management, Iowa Concern, retirement planning, stress, and hotlines

Mike White


Viticulture Specialist
mlwhite@iastate.edu
(515) 961-6237

Horticulture practices for commercial winegrape vineyards, with an emphasis on site selection, soils management, cultivar selection, pest management and the use of mechanical labor saving systems. Works under the direction of the ISU Midwest Grape & Wine Industry Institute to provide overall technical information, communication and marketing assistance to vineyards and wineries in Iowa and adjoining states.

Share |