Staff

Terry Janssen


Regional Extension Education Director - Region 6
tjans@iastate.edu
(712) 662-7131

Agriculture

Dianne Dirks


Office Manager
dianned@iastate.edu
(712) 335-3103

Holly Frerk


County Program Coordinator
hfrerk@iastate.edu
(712)-335-3103

Holly received her bachelor’s degree in Corporate Communication from Buena Vista University in May 2014. She has interned in multiple coordinating roles most recently at the Sioux City Convention Center/Tyson Event Center, Sioux City, IA. 

Lisa Zeman


County Youth Coordinator
lzeman@iastate.edu
(712)335-3103

4-H, Youth, School Enrichment, E-SET

Kris Kohl


Extension Agricultural Engineer
kkohl1@iastate.edu
712-335-3103

Livestock facilities, building materials and construction ventilation systems, manure management systems, soil erosion and crop residue management, soil and water conservation, ground water quality, well construction and maintenance, farm machinery, environmental regulations, energy conservation and farm safety.

Beth Doran


Beef Program Specialist
doranb@iastate.edu
(712) 737-4230

Provides primary leadership for and conducts Extension education programming in the feedlot and cow-calf phases of agriculture. Secondary emphasis is directed toward sheep, dairy and horses.

Carol Ehlers


Regional 4-H Youth Program Specialist
xehlers@iastate.edu
712-732-5056

Youth development and life skills, work-force readiness, environmental stewardship, science and technology, and volunteer development; with access to research based experiential youth development materials.

Abbie Gaffey


Community & Economic Development Program Specialist
gaffey@iastate.edu
712-263-4697

Community & Economic Development

Joe Hannan


Commercial Horticulture Field Specialist
jmhannan@iastate.edu
515-993-4281

Fruit and Vegetable Horticulture

Julie Hlas


External Relations Specialist
hlas@iastate.edu
(712) 389-0129

Writing, Digital Photography, Marketing

Paul Kassel


Extension Field Agronomist
kassel@iastate.edu
(712) 262-2264

Crops

Mary Beth Kaufman


Human Sciences Specialist, Family Finance
mbkaufma@iastate.edu
712-755-3104

Katie Knobbe


Human Sciences Specialist, Nutrition & Health
knobbe@iastate.edu
712-263-4697

Food safety, nutrition, foods and health.

Jane Nolan Goeken


Community and Economic Development Program Specialist
jngoeken@iastate.edu
(712) 262-2264

Community Development

Melissa O'Rourke


Farm Management Specialist
morourke@iastate.edu
712-737-4230

Dave Stender


Swine Field Specialist
dstender@iastate.edu
(712) 225-6196

Management of a swine operation, using records for management decisions, nutrition analysis for cost and performance, production flow planning, environmental issues, swine welfare, swine handling, value added niche pork production and using computer software for monitoring and making decisions.

Share |