Our Story: County Extension Councils

One hundred county extension districts provide local access to Iowa State University Extension and Outreach programs in all of Iowa’s 99 counties. (Pottawattamie County has two districts.) The 900 members of the 100 elected county extension councils work in partnership with local citizens, Iowa State University and the U.S. Department of Agriculture to carry the land-grant mission beyond the campus in Ames to all parts of the state.

Extension council members are elected officials and are responsible for being good stewards of taxpayer dollars. They manage the county extension budget, hire county staff and help select educational programming from ISU Extension and Outreach. The Warren County Extension Council is one example of this grass roots governing body of the nationwide Cooperative Extension System.

Watch More Stories

'Juntos' for a Better Education

Beginning and Young Livestock Producer Network

Buy Eat Live Healthy

Share |