Staff

Cheryl Heronemus


Region 1 Extension Education Director
hero@iastate.edu
712-957-5045
Marsha Rehder

Marsha Rehder


Office Assistant
mrehder@iastate.edu
(712) 957-5045
Beth Bunkers

Beth Bunkers


Program Assistant
bbunkers@iastate.edu
712-957-5045

Youth, Communities and Economic Development

Kris Keene


County Youth Coordinator
keene@iastate.edu
712-957-5045

Youth Development; educates young people in life skills, learning how to learn, communication, citizenship, leadership, and decision making

Mackenzie Johnson

Mackenzie Johnson


Family Program Assistant
johnson7@iastate.edu
712-957-5045

Delivering and coordinating local programs for childcare providers, family caregivers and parents.

Cindy Gannon

Cindy Gannon


Multi-county Marketing Coordinator
cgannon@iastate.edu
712-957-5045

Marketing, communications, publication design, public relations, advertising, communications training, community outreach.

Lori Hayungs


Family Life Program Specialist
lhayungs@iastate.edu
712-737-4230

Family Life

Margaret Murphy


Horticulture Educator
mmurphy@iastate.edu
712-472-2576

Consumer Horticulture; Master Gardener training & coordination of programs; youth gardening programs

Kris Kohl

Kris Kohl


Agriculture Engineering Specialist
kkohl1@iastate.edu
712-732-5056

See Full Biography

Livestock facilities, building materials and construction ventilation systems, manure management systems, soil erosion and crop residue management, soil and water conservation, ground water quality, well construction and maintenance, farm machinery, environmental regulations, energy conservation and farm safety.

Kevin Lager

Kevin Lager


Dairy Specialist
klager@iastate.edu
712-737-4230

See Full Biography

Dairy Herd Health, Dairy Production & Management, Records Management & Analysis, Development and Implementation of on-going dairy education programs.

Melissa O'Rourke

Melissa O'Rourke


Farm & Agribusiness Management Specialist
morourke@iastate.edu
(712) 737-4230

See Full Biography
Agricultural law, employment legal issues, land and related leasing issues, estate and succession planning.
Annie’s Project for Farm Women

Dave Stender

Dave Stender


Swine Specialist
dstender@iastate.edu
712-225-6196

See Full Biography
Management of a swine operation, using records for management decisions, nutrition analysis for cost and performance, production flow planning, environmental issues, swine welfare, swine handling, value added niche pork production and using computer software for monitoring and making decisions.

Joel DeJong

Joel DeJong


Field Agronomist
jldejong@iastate.edu
712-546-7835

See Full Biography

Soil Fertility, Insect and Weed Management, Alternative Tillage Methods, Integrated Crop Management, Pesticide Use and Safety , Manure as a Crop Nutrient , Weather-related Crop Problems, Sustainable Crop Production, Precision Agriculture

Dr. Beth Doran

Beth Doran


Extension Beef Specialist
doranb@iastate.edu
712-737-4230

See Full Biography

Provides primary leadership for and conducts Extension education programming in the feedlot and cow-calf phases of agriculture. Secondary emphasis is directed toward sheep, dairy and horses.

Jane Goeken


Communities Program Specialist
jngoeken@iastate.edu
712-262-2264

Grant-Writing and Project Development, Strategic Planning and Visioning, Facilitation, Survey and Needs Assessment Development, Town Meetings, Providing Training for Local Officials

Katie Knobbe

Katie Knobbe


Nutrition and Health Program Specialist
knobbe@iastate.edu
712-262-2264

Provides education in nutrition and food safety; registered dietician.

Renee Sweers


Nutrition & Health Program Specialist
rsweers@iastate.edu
712-276-2157

Nutrition throughout the life-cycle, Nutrition, Health and Prevention of chronic disease, Women, Infant and Children's health issues, Food Safety and Quality, Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) and Family Nutrition Program (FNP) in selected counties

Jan Monahan

Jan Monahan


Family Finance Specialist
jmonahan@iastate.edu
712-336-3488

Consumer Education, Money Management, Family Economics, Public Policy Education, Certified Credit Counselor, Family Financial Counseling

Wade M. Weber


Region 1 Youth Program Specialist
wadewebr@iastate.edu
712-262-2264

Educates young people in life skills, learning how to learn, communication, citizenship, leadership and decision making

Abbie Gaffey


Western Communities and Economic Development Program Specialist
agaffey@iastate.edu
712-263-4697

Community and economic development

Julie Hlas

Julie Hlas


Advancement Specialist
hlas@iastate.edu
712-389-0129

Marketing and communications

Share |