2012 State 4-H Dairy Quiz Bowl Winners Announced

ARLINGTON, Iowa – The Dubuque County Senior Dairy Quiz Bowl Team placed first in the annual 4-H Youth Dairy Quiz Bowl, held June 6 at the Starmont High School in Arlington. The team will represent Iowa 4-H at the National 4-H Dairy Quiz Bowl in Louisville, Ky., in November.

“The event provides some experience for the up and coming youth to demonstrate their knowledge about the dairy industry,” said Mike Anderson, 4-H agriculture program coordinator with Iowa State University Extension and Outreach.

The winning team, “Ferm Kidz and Bornina Barn,” included Rachel Demmer, Samantha Ehrlich, Emily Costello, Andy Dougherty and Kyle Kass. Jeff Hammerand, Shirley Simon and Lynn Wingert were the coaches for the Dubuque County team.

Delaware County’s Senior Team took second place. Members included Nicole Engelken, James Goldsmith, Glenn Comley, Rachel Knipper and Madi Gibbs. Jennifer Zumbach was the coach for Delaware County.

Each year, the Fayette County 4-H Dairy Club presents a traveling trophy to each division winner in honor and memory of Connie Stewart and her daughter Sarah Stewart.

The winning intermediate division team was from Delaware County. Members included Katelyn Goldsmith, Mindy Burkle, Nick Bagge, Kaleb Kruse and Matthew Lansing. Jennifer Zumbach was the Delaware County coach.

The second place intermediate team was from Fayette County. The “Bashing Bovines” team included Ashley Baumler, Sally Hamlett, Cynthia Hamlett and Nathan Arthur. They were coached by Diana Stewart.

Taking top honors in the junior division was the Dubuque County team, “Cheese Curds.” Members included Amanda Dougherty, Trenton Hammerand, Landen Knapp, and Logan Wingert. Coaches were Jeff Hammerand, Shirley Simon and Lynn Wingert.

The second place team in the junior division was from Fayette County. The “Kickbutt Cows” team members were Ben Scott, Braeden Baumler, Vanessa Hamlett and Brylie Volker. Diana Stewart was their coach.

The scores of a written exam, team questions and toss-up competition combined to determine the winners of each match in this double elimination event. The Iowa 4-H Foundation Dairy Endowment provided various awards for the event and will provide funding for the senior team’s trip to Louisville.

Sixty-three youth participated in the quiz bowl: 19 seniors, 22 intermediates and 22 juniors.

Other Placings

Senior third place: Fayette County — Katie Stewart, Mary Scott, Molly Schmitt, Kelli Steinlage and Dayle Lantzky.

Intermediate third place: Dubuque County — Theresa Brehm, Aaron Costello, Royce Demmer, Alyssa Dougherty and Adam Simon.

Junior third place: Delaware County Junior Team 1 — Amanda Engelken, Cole Kruse, and Tehya Demmer.

Senior Test Results
1. (Tied) Mary Scott, Fayette County; James Goldsmith Delaware County  
2. Kelli Steinlage, Fayette County
3. Molly Schmitt, Fayette County

Intermediate Test Results
1. Adam Simon, Dubuque County
2.(Tied) Nathan Arthur, Fayette County; Theresa Brehm, Dubuque County; Katelyn Goldsmith, Delaware County; Nick Bagge, Delaware County
3. Matthew Lansing, Delaware County

Junior Test Results
1. Amanda Engelken, Delaware County
2. (Tied) Cole Kruse, Delaware County; Regan Demmer, Dubuque County; Amanda Dougherty, Dubuque County; Brylie Volker, Fayette County
3. Trenton Hammerand, Dubuque County